Skip to content

Tied Down – New Collage

October 5, 2011

Tied Down - Collage, 5x5"

This collage is created using my collection of hand painted and weathered papers, some Citra Solv paper, and added pencil drawing.

Today was beautiful and it was difficult to stay inside, so I took frequent breaks out to the garden to watch my lettuces grow. We are going to have a 3-month window for lettuce before bad weather and I’ve planted a huge overabundance of them. That’s OK, because I’ll share with family and friends. The culprit eating chopping down my red cabbage is cutworms. I started out with 8 red cabbages and now have 5. Today I made little cardboard collars out of toilet tissue rolls for all of the plants. And just to be on the safe side, I made them for the green cabbage too.

Inside the studio I spent several hours working on digital projects again. Here is an example of an abstract landscape series I’ve been working on.

Digital art is fun, but I still prefer getting my hands in paint.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 11:31 am

    It is hard to wrap my head around the fact that you are in another growing season and we here are thinking about putting our “beds” to bed until spring. There is soooo much work to do outside and yes, I have been putting it off. I went out yesterday to take the final picture of the 2011 summer garden which will get posted today on my blog. You amaze me Martha,.. you do everything, ….grow, can, bake, paint, do collage, all forms of art work and know your way around a computer for sure…..a multi talented individual.

    • October 5, 2011 3:35 pm

      Karin Lynn, thank you so much for those kind words. You call me multi-talented; I just call me ADHD!! 🙂

      Our fall garden has a very short season, and the only things that survive are greens, onions, etc. Cabbage will sometimes winter over. I’m so new at this I keep trying to push the envelope.

  2. October 5, 2011 11:35 am

    Your digital abstract landscapes look remarkably like the landscape as seen from the top of Steptoe Butte in Washington’s Palouse area. A quick search in Google for “Steptoe Butte” will show you immediately what I mean. I think yours are lovely. –Carol Leigh (mostly a photographer/digital artist but who has lately begun getting glue on her fingers from doing collage!)

    • October 5, 2011 3:37 pm

      Carol, thank you so much for telling me about Steptoe Butte. I did google it just now and can’t believe it. I’ve always loved a vista from above, though haven’t seen that one. I’d love to go there! I’ve visited your blog just now and love your work. I’ll spend more time looking around. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. October 6, 2011 5:32 am

    Those digital landscapes are lovely. They reminded me of these

    http://365daysofcolour.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/crinkles/

    http://letsdye.wordpress.com/2011/06/05/learn-to-dye/

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

