Skip to content

Painted Magazine Pages for Collage

October 5, 2011

Odd Moments - Collage, 8x8"

Thanks to Dale Anne Potter, whom I mentioned in yesterday’s blog post, I have had an exciting breakthrough in the studio. I was intrigued by Dale Anne’s mention of using magazines as journal pages, embellishing the pages just as you would a blank piece of paper. I loved the idea and since I’ve been longing to do a visual journal for a very long time, I thought using a magazine would be a non-threatening way to begin.

So this morning I got out one of my wonderful designer magazines and started randomly painting onto the pages, with the idea of using these as backgrounds to begin my journal. Well! I fell in love with every page just with the paint, and thought how wonderful they would be as collage papers (naturally!) so I couldn’t stop myself from tearing them out and putting them into my collage papers stack.

As long as there are magazines, there will be an unlimited supply of papers for collage. I have always loved using magazine images in collage, especially interior design magazines, because of their great color and pattern. I’ve spent hours and hours snipping selections out of magazines to use in collage.

What makes this different is the freedom of seeing the patterns and colors mingled with paint. It changes them completely. Here are examples of what I came up with today. I’ve kept this file large enough so that you can click on it and enlarge it for detail. In using these for collage, they will be cut down so that the imagery is unrecognizable, and there will be only color and pattern.

I’m so excited about the possibilities with these. I’ll put off the journal until another day.

The above collage was created using a painted magazine page as a beginning.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 6:30 pm

    I’m just getting started in collage and I”m finding your information useful and inspirational — so thank you! However, I do NOT thank you for having encouraged me to spend three minutes and 44 seconds watching a (very funny) video about how Korea invented pizza! –Carol Leigh

    • October 5, 2011 9:07 pm

      Wait wait! What funny video about how Korea invented pizza? Did I put up a bogus link? sounds interesting anyway. 🙂

  2. October 5, 2011 9:35 pm

    You know what’s weird? Now that I’m back at your posting, there is NO link to a video about Korea inventing pizza. Where the heck did that come from? Swell, now you think I’m some sort of stalker weirdo hallucinating about Asian countries griping about how Italy stole their idea … I think I’d better shut down the computer now.

  3. October 6, 2011 5:09 am

    Wonderful papers, Dale Anne posts lots of interesting information.

    We get some brochures here printed on matt paper. The ink lifts off, but they look fantastic when over painted. It’s yet another free source of material!

    • October 6, 2011 7:01 am

      Myfanwy, I’m now looking at everything that comes in the mail with an eye toward what I can make out of it. 😉

  4. October 6, 2011 6:50 pm

    Great inspiration – I think I will try this as well. Thanks.

  5. October 7, 2011 12:26 am

    well … it seems to me every collage and painting is a page in the journal that is you anyway ? … you know … some do it in a book with pages … others do it with every single piece – a page that is on the wall – a digital collection of each piece gives you the pages of a book (should you so wish) …

    hmmmm there is so much raw material isnt there ? … but thats the wonder of it all – how we use it and the excitement we get from it all … loved the pics of the flowers popping up in your veggie patch too (as i head into my summer and planting vegetables (in an old wheelbarrow) ….

    always love stopping by your web page /site/ etsy …. >>> Gina

    • October 7, 2011 11:36 am

      So good to see you Gina, and to read your words about pages and raw material and wonder and excitement. Glad you stopped by. Good luck with your plantings.

  6. October 20, 2011 4:14 pm

    So I grabbed an old Elle Decor and my gesso and set to work yesterday afternoon and haven’t been so excited by a process in a long time. The results are spectacular, and the really good thing is that they look nothing like your work. I love it when the hand and experiences of the artist take over to produce something new and different. To think I tossed all those valuable old magazines! Now I’ll have to buy more.
    So thanks for sharing this process. It’s got me out of a spell of inactivity.

    • October 20, 2011 4:41 pm

      Jo, I am thrilled. If your local library has a bookstore of donated items, there usually are tons of nice magazines to be had. I can’t wait to see what you’ve created!

      • October 20, 2011 4:43 pm

        PS – I too am always amazed at how many different interpretations artists can come up with for a single set of parameters. If we were all working side by side in a workshop, it would be the same thing, and always very exciting.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

