Skip to content

Lettuce and Broccoli and Cauliflower, Oh My!

September 28, 2011

Scatter - Collage, 6x6"

Scattered is how I feel this week. Deep breath, long sip of coffee, a little stroll through the garden. There, I feel better already.

Over the weekend I planted lots of green stuff in the garden. The rabbits (I think! Or maybe chipmunks?) love the red cabbage seedlings. I may not get any. Anyway, here is my proud achievement.

Rec Cabbage Seedlings - There should be eight.

Broccoli, Cauliflower, Brussels Sprouts

Iceberg and Romaine Lettuce, Cabbage

Buttercrunch Lettuce

Kale and Collard Greens

And here’s what’s left of my summer garden . . .

The Last Tomatoes

Red Bell Pepper Just Turning

Herbs in Containers

Planting is a very big job. It makes me hurt in places that I didn’t even know I had places. So I’m glad I’m my own boss and can take frequent breaks.

We will have plenty of lettuce and greens for most of the fall and into the winter. Most of these things will do well to temps in the twenties.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    September 28, 2011 6:34 pm

    i love scatter and as for the rest,well yummy!! m

  2. September 29, 2011 5:31 am

    I like ‘Scatter’. I feel stretched. Off to teach until after the weekend. It will be good, but so much organising.

    Your plants will be bigger by the time I get back, LOL

  3. September 29, 2011 4:40 pm

    Looks like a gardening center! I was not able to garden yet this year, due to health reasons. You inspire me to get ready for spring.

    However, my creative juices are going. Our Neosho Arts Festival is this Saturday, and I have enjoyed getting back in the swing. Just want to share one picture that makes me so happy to have something to pick from my yard. Sunshine from the Garden

    • September 30, 2011 10:15 am

      Love the painting, Caroline! I hope you can get back to your garden in the spring. It’s a healing thing in itself.

  4. September 30, 2011 11:36 am

    Love the Scatter! Your garden looks great. I’ve been trying to plant herbs and failing miserably!! 😦 will try again this year.

  5. brutus permalink
    October 3, 2011 3:26 am

    Scatter, thats such a wonderful precise expression. I love the garden 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

