Skip to content

Things That Can’t Wait

September 23, 2011

Anticipation of Winter - Collage, 6x6"

Regardless of other things that seem urgent right now, everything really does have to stop in order to do some immediate work for the fall garden. This morning it could have almost been jacket weather, so I spent a couple of hours cleaning out some beds for planting winter greens and root vegetables, and in the process got some much-needed exercise.

One of the many things I love about fall are the gradual but unmistakable color changes. The leaves are already starting to turn on a few trees. Another thing I love is that I can be outside and really get a workout without sweat getting into my eyes.

That little work session felt so good that I headed to the studio for a couple of hours just to play with all of my new papers. With no predetermined outcome in mind, I was able to create a few little collages that reflected the mood of the season. These are two of them.

Garden Plans - Collage, 5x5"

Other things that can’t wait are shelling beans and peas and putting them up in the freezer or in jars. For some reason Jim likes to shell peas and beans. I’m grateful for the help, and canning 20 pints of blackeyed peas this week seemed . . . well, almost effortless.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2011 10:17 am

    I’m heading out to my garden right now to do some clean up too, though it’ll be for the year-no winter crops for me. 😦

  2. September 24, 2011 1:26 pm

    Love the artwork as usual. It’s still to hot and humid here to feel like anything but summer! And feeling a little lethargic with the heat. Ideas floating around in my head waiting to come to life 🙂

    • September 24, 2011 3:12 pm

      Oh yes, Fadwa. I can take only so many months of heat and then I am over it! 😉 I love a nice crisp change of seasons.

  3. September 24, 2011 3:40 pm

    Martha….LOVE the ‘Garden Plans’. 🙂

  4. September 25, 2011 12:44 pm

    The garden plans sound good. However……

    Those collages are just fantastic. I think you have found a new inspiration…. and to think it came from the kitchen, LOL

    • September 25, 2011 3:41 pm

      Well, the kitchen is more or less the center of our existence as a family, so it’s totally appropriate! 😉

  5. September 26, 2011 1:57 pm

    The collages are great but the canned corn brings me home to my mother’s kitchen. Peace, Mary Helen

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

