Skip to content

If You’re Stuck, Back Up and Turn Around

September 13, 2011

Well now I’ve gone and done it. I have irreversibly changed a painting that wasn’t making me happy at all, and I’m still no happier than I was before. Sigh.

You may remember how this one started out:

And that didn’t work, so I changed it completely:

Then it ended up like this and stayed that way for a couple of months . . . but it still just didn’t work for me for some reason.

Yesterday I walked by and said OK, today is the day I change this piece again. I wanted to make sure I couldn’t see what had come before, because it wasn’t telling me what it wanted to be, no matter how many times I stared at it.

Now this is what I have, and I still don’t know what to do next. Some paintings are like that. It’s as if they sit over in the corner of the studio plotting against me. But I do like black at the top. I’ll let you know if and when I conquer this little 8×8″ square panel.

Note:  I guess I should back up and re-read my blog post from last week, titled Try and Try Again.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 12:38 am

    Oh thank goodness Martha. I thought this only happened to me. The one thing that is nice is the learning that comes because it is the paintings we struggle where we get to do the most growing and refining. Good luck with it.

    Could face it to the wall and tell it that it is not allowed to turn around until it knows what it wants to be 😉

  2. September 14, 2011 12:41 am

    Terrill, that made my night!!! 🙂 The perfect solution! Thank you.

  3. September 14, 2011 7:15 am

    The original was nice but I like the new version even more, it has a quiet, sophisticated texture and subtle color.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    September 14, 2011 11:55 am

    i liked all of them except the white one so as far as i’m concerned they were mostly winners but….whatta i know..mc

  5. Anonymous permalink
    September 14, 2011 9:06 pm

    I liked it when you had the silver going with the black region to the left. i would have carried the black sparingly across the top, three quarters of the way along the top. haha..is that specific enough?

    But like anonymous said…whadda i know?

    Sherrill, Montreal 🙂

  6. Little Cat Studios permalink
    September 15, 2011 11:40 am

    …I liked it best the first way….and the third. Several of my paintings have done this to me. I guess I’m supposed to be learning how to live patiently, but I’m like you in that I’d rather just cover it up and start all over!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

