Skip to content

Art Lifts the Spirits

September 12, 2011

Serendipity 2 - Collage and Acrylic on Gallery Wrap Canvas, 4x4x1"

This is the second piece in my Serendipity series. I have in mind that all of these will be collage and painting on small canvases, hopefully all the same size and depth. This is my favorite size canvas.

Last week’s blogging came to an abrupt end as a lot of things converged on my schedule. Hopefully this week will be better.

One of the things I had to drop everything and do was bring both of my Etsy shops up to date, and that’s still not done. If you see any of my new collages in this blog that are not up for sale yet, please don’t be shy — just ask me about them. I have quite a few to still get listed. My shops are brushwithimagination and colorpoetry.

I’m thrilled to have sold three collages over the weekend. Those went out this morning. What makes me even happier is that art collectors are still buying art, even in these tough times.  Art lifts the spirits and makes us feel more human. The same can be said of all of the arts, which brings me to this soulful and uplifting music video that I saw last week. Enjoy!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 8:51 pm

    This is fabulous, I love the “lime and red” with the ” calm” in between. Do you glue it on the canvas and how to you finish the edges so they won’t “lift?”

    • September 12, 2011 9:01 pm

      Karin Lynn, I just brush on some acrylic medium, stick the paper parts down, and brush more over that. Sometimes as it’s drying I need to press it down again for a little bit to make sure it’s sticking. With stretched canvas it’s not always possible to weigh the glued parts down as they dry like you can with collage on paper. But it doesn’t really pose a big problem. When things lift as they sometimes do, I just brush some more medium under those edges again.

  2. September 13, 2011 10:05 am

    It does lift the spirits! Thanks for posting that.

    • September 13, 2011 11:14 am

      Kim, the funny thing is that now I can’t get that song out of my head. But I love it, so it doesn’t matter.

  3. patq permalink
    September 13, 2011 6:18 pm

    Martha: That small sliver piece of colors is the perfect accent. Is that also a scrap of table cover papers?
    Thanks Patq

    • September 13, 2011 10:40 pm

      Hey Pat, thanks. That little strip is a piece from a magazine page. I like using magazine cutouts especially if you can’t tell what they originally were. That was just a scrap of who knows what.

  4. September 14, 2011 12:56 pm

    I am absolutely LOVING this one!
    ANDDDD “Serendipity” is my favorite word ever.

    • September 14, 2011 2:14 pm

      I’m so glad you like that one, John! And yes, I love the word too, and what it represents.

  5. September 19, 2011 5:13 am

    I really like this one. By the way, if you have acrylic medium on both the bottom surface and the backside of the top surface little bits that aren’t adhered can be ironed (protect your iron and surface with release paper) to fix. Sometimes this adds a new dimension if you don’t mind a few creases etc.

    My Etsy shops are badly in need of some love too. Why have they made the whole process so much less enjoyable?

    • September 19, 2011 7:54 am

      Thanks for mentioning that ironing trick, Sassa. I use it a lot actually but just forget about it sometimes. (And of course with a protective silicone coated sheet in between the iron and the art.)

      I know what you mean about Etsy. I need to go back in and do a whole lot of housekeeping on my shops, but dread it. Everything you want to edit has to get updated with all their new categories. Maddening.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

