Skip to content

Try and Try Again

September 7, 2011

Try and Try Again - Collage, 4x4"

That’s the story of my art life: try this, try that, see what works and what doesn’t. Some days can seem like complete failure, but they are never a waste of time. Failure is a great way to make course corrections.

I think the thing that is changing for me is the scale of my risk taking. I like working small. It allows me the chance to have successes more often. I’ve lost my taste for big failures. I don’t think that’s a bad thing. Call it wisdom earned through life experience.

I have worked big. Oh, have I ever. I just think I have enough big paintings around me now. Big, beautiful paintings, I might add. But for now, small is beautiful.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 12:40 pm

    I just happened to find your blog – beautiful artworks! One can tell that you like to experiment and try (just like me!).
    I like your last post and comment, because it sounds quite wise to me – small is beautiful.
    It reminds me of A. Giaccometti who during the war did very very tiny sculptures, because he felt like it, and also the war didn’t allow him any more to work large. And his tiny sculptures are beautiful.

  2. September 7, 2011 1:06 pm

    Sue, I’m thrilled you landed here. I really love your work, and can see we have some interests in common. Yes, Giaccometti is a favorite of mine. Even his small works seem monumental.

    Hope you’ll stop in again!

  3. September 7, 2011 5:13 pm

    I concur with this approach Martha and have recently completed five smaller paintings after doing several large ones during the first part of the year. And like you say, the experimenting is so much easier to risk on a smaller piece.

  4. September 8, 2011 5:04 am

    Martha, thank you for joining my blog. Will be stopping by at yours, definitely!

  5. September 9, 2011 3:07 pm

    Small is indeed beautiful.

    It never ceases to amaze me how different artists use collage – but all ‘just stick things on’. If only it was…… ‘just’!

Trackbacks

  1. Try and Try Again (via An Artist’s Journal) | Searching For Enlightenment

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

