Skip to content

No Preconceptions

September 6, 2011

No Preconceptions - Collage, 5x7"

These collages are created with as little thought as possible regarding their outcome. It’s just play, hoping that one happy  thing will lead to another, and another.  The unhappy part is still cutting and tearing into the larger pieces of paper to arrange them into some kind of composition. I save every single tiny scrap for future use.

I just have to reassure myself that more papers can be made that will be just as much fun as these.

I have to wonder what a complete stranger  would think if they were to go through my studio with all its odd little bits of “stuff.” Would they think some crazy person lived here? I hope so.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 3:24 pm

    Hmm. Bits of ‘stuff’.

    Bear in mind that I work in textiles too. So…..

    Apart from those scraps of paper (which are also sometimes the basis for stitch) I have:

    jars of scraps of thread (you’d be surprised what you can do with even 2 inches)
    boxes of tiny scraps of fabric ( if it’s 2 inches, that’s large)
    beads of all sizes
    buttons of all sizes
    bits of leather
    scraps of wood
    metal, copper, ‘silver’ and ‘gold’
    velvet, silk, cotton and other fabrics in abundance
    Vast quantites of machine threads
    And, of course, all those threads etc I’ve hand-dyed myself.

    Is it any wonder I won’t let anyone into my studio….. There isn’t room.

  2. September 10, 2011 3:53 pm

    Not only not alone, I think this may be the norm. I’ve spent most of the last 2 weekends cleaning and tossing – its a little hard but the hard facts are, I either have too many interests or just too much stuff for the space.

    I’ve decided to put some of the things I dont use often (up to now I couldn’t even reach or remember I had them) out of the main studio space and hopefully this additional space will allow me to have more room to create.

    So far it’s working I’ve actually started several projects and even finished a few.

    I hope you’ve enjoyed the summer. I really like the small format stuff you’ve posted.

    😀 eirdre

    • September 10, 2011 7:08 pm

      Deirdre, I think that’s a very wise decision you made. Having room to create really opens up possibilities. I’m getting to the point now where I need to clear some stuff out.

      I console myself with the thought that if I should really decide to part with a bunch of art “stuff” the elementary schools would love to have it.

  3. raul cabral permalink
    October 3, 2011 1:30 am

    great piece of art!!! really love the concept! RC

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

