Skip to content

I Am The Boss of Me

September 5, 2011

I Am The Boss of Me - Collage, 5x7"

Being one’s own boss has its advantages at times, like today. Since many other workers have the day off, I decided to give myself a holiday as well. My time has been well spent so far, in the studio for a change. It feels wonderful.

We’re experiencing the remnants of Tropical Storm Lee, with solid rain and some wind for almost 24 hours already. And since it’s feeling very fall-ish outside, I’m heading to the kitchen in a little while to start a big pot of stew for our supper. That and a nice warm loaf of crunchy bread will be perfect for tonight.

This collage made me happy. I am so enjoying my new stash of table cover paper with its accidental splatters and smears of paint.

I hope you have great plans for the rest of the week.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2011 6:26 pm

    I love the table splashes and I LOVE the title! Amen, Sister!

  2. September 6, 2011 7:56 am

    Sounds like a fantastic day!

    • September 6, 2011 5:29 pm

      Oh, it was, Jennifer! And the stew was delicious — plus we had blackberry cobbler too! 🙂

  3. September 6, 2011 9:01 am

    Oh I know fall is coming when I get the hankering to make a stew or a pot of baked beans with a pork roast. My mother said time speeds up as we get older and she was correct, as usaual. Nice collaging Martha…….One of these days I will try it……so much to do, so little time. Enjoy the studio work.

    • September 6, 2011 5:31 pm

      Karin Lynn, the change of seasons just brings on thoughts of comfort food, doesn’t it? And yes, your mother is correct. Kind of scary.

      I hope you do try playing around with some collage. But I have to warn you ahead of time that it can be addicting.

  4. September 6, 2011 10:28 am

    Feeling productive today, preparing for Neosho Art Festival. Anyone have pictures of chickens they would like to share. Love the cooler air, but wish we could get some of your rain.

    • September 6, 2011 5:32 pm

      Caroline, I wish we could have shared just a little bit of this rain too. But it was sorely needed! Sorry, I don’t have any chickens or pictures of any either. But probably someone who reads this blog does. (Anyone?) Good luck with your show!

  5. September 9, 2011 3:25 pm

    Table covers put to very good use.

  6. Anonymous permalink
    September 15, 2011 7:33 am

    hi martha, it looks lovely. i wish to work so much too at my studio, which i finally do have a space, but i think i am blocked and am unable to really let go. Its very encouraging to see you work and write so regularly.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

