Skip to content

An Act of Bravery – Sort of

September 3, 2011

Climate Change - Acrylic on Freezer Paper, 7x7"

I’m excited about this new collage, because of its source and also because it took bravery to do.

You might remember the table cover made from freezer paper that I removed back in May. Tonight I stepped into the studio and got that back out and unfolded it. It has beautiful little passages of color here and there and I’ve been wanting to use it in collage for the longest time. So I finally got up the courage to cut into it. What happened was that I really had to be brave because I had to cut off various pieces before choosing what I wanted to use. After this, it shouldn’t be this hard. Now that it’s no longer virgin paper, I’m completely OK.

The resulting piece falls between the categories of collage and painting. That’s because the only collaged part is the painted tape across the top. And I’ve added some of my own accent marks in pencil.

Click on my previous post to see the whole table cover, and scroll down to the bottom picture. Can you find my collage/painting? Hint – it’s upside down in the original picture.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2011 1:04 am

    Awesome collage Martha! Yeup…I spotted it! I won’t say where because I want others to see if they can spot it as well.

    I know that when I followed your example and made up my own intuitive art project on a BIG piece of art paper, that first cut was the most challenging one. But once that was done, like you said, it got much easier after that.

    In the top over all view (on the link post you did in May), the aqua section looks like it could be an abstract flower. Maybe a few outline marks and it would be done! But I’m sure you see other possibilities with it all. Oh what fun you must be having anticipating the lovely possibilities. 🙂

    I think you were very brave and I’m so glad you shared with us all!

  2. September 3, 2011 1:08 am

    The truly was very brave of you Martha. You did it! My experience of your work is so tactile. It is the one of my sense that rarely gets to take the lead. Your work allows it to stand up and say “allow me!” I cherish this experience every time I drop by for a visit.

    • September 3, 2011 9:51 am

      That’s so nice to hear, Terrill. Thank you for those words. Tactile, yes. Definitely.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    September 3, 2011 8:13 am

    i love this!it is as though while you are working on something you are also working on something and won’t know what till you use the paper cover make sense? mc

  4. September 4, 2011 11:27 am

    I enjoy your trepidation on cutting the first piece. What wonderful artistic evolution paper can make, and I didn’t even give it thought until I signed up for your blog.

    • September 4, 2011 12:18 pm

      Caroline, I hope you find some ways to use “accidental” papers in your work. I can completely see a realistic painting done with all papers. Might be fun!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

