Skip to content

New Collage – “Coastal”

August 31, 2011

Coastal - Collage, 8x8"

This is a new collage using mostly hand painted papers. The small piece with text in the upper left is a piece of newspaper with metallic copper paint. The vertical green piece was weathered outside and is part of a printed list of paper samples included in a little sample book that I had. I think these words were inspired by beach names. The little black, white and red square on the right is a piece cut from my art table cover. The sienna and white piece covering the lower portion of the collage is newsprint that had been used to clean several different brayers.

My favorite paper in this piece comprises the background, which is actually a monoprint of sorts. I used a piece of newsprint to blot the entire surface of an 8×8″ panel that had a coat of thin, wet black paint. Since the paint underneath the black was textural and dried, the print ended up being a very sharp image of the panel’s texture. I’ve been saving this black monoprinted piece for a long time and finally had to make myself use it.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 8:43 pm

    what theme did you use?

  2. September 1, 2011 8:41 am

    Hi Martha

    First, I love how experimental you are with your work. It sounds like you’re having so much fun! And, this is great: “The little black, white and red square on the right is a piece cut from my art table cover”!

    Second, I was wondering if I could ask you a biz question? I notice you do pretty well on Etsy and there is a conversation going on at LinkedIn about paying for memberships to sell work or using the free service. Someone mentioned doing well with the best membership they offer and not selling a thing when they switched back to free. I found this fascinating. Can I ask you if you do the free or paid? Hope I’m not overstepping, but, it will definitely
    help me make my decision.

    Thanks for your time!
    Jennifer

    • September 1, 2011 10:48 am

      Wow, Jenn, I don’t know what they could be referring to if you’re talking Etsy. Etsy isn’t free, but it’s very cheap. There is a 20 cent listing fee for each item and it’s good for four months. Then there’s a nominal selling fee when you make a sale. That’s it.

      If they’re referring to other sites, I’m just not a fan of paying membership fees to exhibit and sell my work. So I don’t do it anywhere. But I do like Etsy’s simple system. Many free sites allow you to show a limited number of images for free, then they offer various levels of membership so that you can increase the number of images that you can exhibit.

      Hope this helps.

      • September 2, 2011 8:59 am

        Thanks for the reply Martha – yep, I’m running a few things currently at the .20 cent listing and am starting to build on that. Do you ever do the showcase?

        🙂 thanks!

  3. September 9, 2011 3:29 pm

    Lovely, so understated.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

