Skip to content

A Hybrid Collage

August 30, 2011

This is a collage created with scans of real papers, cut out and arranged digitally. This method of creating collage allows the flexibility of choosing the best composition and color combinations.

After deciding on the composition, I played with the colors to determine what works best. Since a limited color palette can sometimes be dramatic, I’ve tried different ways to look at this collage. First is the full color version with the original paper colors. Second is the black and white version, and third is a combination of black and white with just a little touch of color.

After all that, I think I like the one in full color best. What do you think?

Note: Just playing “what if.” It’s always fun to visualize things in different ways. I even like to think that a collage could be re-created on a large scale in real life.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 7:42 pm

    Great collage Martha! I think my fav is the third one with just touches of color. Feel it’s more dramatic that way. Full color is my 2nd choice and black and white is my third. I enjoy black and white in general but for some reason these are my choices with this composition. πŸ™‚

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 31, 2011 9:39 am

    They all are great studies, but I think I like the color one the best, next the touch of color, and then the black and white my third choice. But they all work!
    Pat q

  3. Anonymous permalink
    August 31, 2011 4:27 pm

    i,m going to go with the colors one since i always go with the color ,however having said that i really like the black and white also so many choices!!! mc

    • August 31, 2011 5:51 pm

      They are each very different, aren’t they Margaret! But I’m feeling a little more colorful lately. So I think I’m leaning toward that one.

  4. August 31, 2011 5:32 pm

    Hi Martha
    I think I like the bottom one the best. Though I think I’m having trouble with the large black areas. I don’t know if they are too stark for me or just too much of to stark. Hope that doesn’t offend. πŸ™‚

    • August 31, 2011 5:50 pm

      Of course not, Jennifer, or I wouldn’t have asked for comments! πŸ™‚ Thanks. It’s kind of like sitting together in a little critique group. I like black so much, but it might be overkill in this instance.

  5. August 31, 2011 5:55 pm

    The third one speaks to me, just a touch of color. What will you call it?

  6. August 31, 2011 6:01 pm

    Caroline, what about “Just a Touch?” That could work!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

