Skip to content

A Very Long Day

August 24, 2011
tags:

Lima Beans

It’s been a very long day. For some reason I almost never sleep all night on Tuesday nights. What is up with that anyway? I sat up and watched a lot of boring TV shows in order to fall asleep again, which I did at around four a.m. That doesn’t absolve me of the list of things that have to be done during the day, so I didn’t get to make up for lost sleep today.

I spent a few hours today on my digital art and a couple more hours in the garden. We are between the end of summer crops and the beginning of the fall garden, but still have lima beans, zipper peas, tomatoes, and peppers to keep watering for a while. All of those will last until frost. Then it will be time for greens and cruciferous veggies like broccoli, cauliflower, rutabagas and cabbage. Last week I canned four quarts of marinara sauce. The rest of our tomatoes have been given out to friends and relatives and slathered onto tomato sandwiches. So wonderful!

I have a feeling I’m going to sleep like a baby tonight. At least I hope.

Tomatoes and Peppers

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 9:31 pm

    Tomato sandwiches – yum!

    I hope you get a good night’s rest tonight 🙂

  2. August 24, 2011 11:12 pm

    Funny you talking about the garden just about being over. I’m smack in the peak of mine. Tomatoes are just now finally starting to ripen. Course in a month it’ll all be over.

    Sleep well!

  3. August 25, 2011 1:36 pm

    Hi Martha –

    First, I so envy you that have gardens that flourish! Congrats – all the goodies look so yummy (and pretty!)

    Second, I have had sleeping trouble for a long long time. I used to “do stuff” to fall back to sleep until last year. Then I gave in. I now think of it as a gift. If I am woken any time from 4am on – that’s the beginning of my day and I just get up. I stop laying in bed, I stop feeling bad about it, I, just get up and start my day! If it’s before that, I get up and do chores or art related work until I get sleepy – could be a couple of hours. Then, if my schedule allows, I go back to sleep for a bit. Maybe these thoughts can help you – funny that it’s a particular day of the week.

    Or, you could do what my Grandfather did – he took up the Ham Radio!

    Good Luck! Sweet Dreams
    Jennifer

    • August 25, 2011 2:14 pm

      Thanks for those suggestions, Jennifer! Well, I do try to do something productive sometimes and then just resign myself to a nap later if possible. If I get too engrossed in the computer I just get more wide awake. Boring old black and white movies usually do the trick!

      I really can’t put my finger on why Tuesday nights are different. There are other nights that I wake up too, but those are random. Tuesdays seem to be the one night of the week that I can almost count on waking up. Strange.

  4. August 28, 2011 6:15 pm

    Oh my gosh! I do that too. I have at least one night a week where I can’t sleep. It’s a pretty new thing. I’ll have to pay attention to see if it’s on a particular night. Weird.

    • August 30, 2011 1:50 pm

      Well Vicki, I have a feeling it has something to do with the fact that I have to be up early every other Wednesday. We have a cleaning woman who comes to help shovel out all the pet hair, etc. so I can have a “serious” art career. It really is a help. But you know, when you know you have to be up early, how sometimes you can’t sleep worrying that you won’t? I think that’s the problem! 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

