Skip to content

New Collage Series – Fault Lines

August 23, 2011

This new series “Fault Lines” is inspired by the thought of tectonic movements that cause earthquakes. Today earthquakes were all over the news, emanating from a place that is not usually thought of as a focus of seismic activity.

I could show just one collage, but I think I should show you all three of the ones I created today. In preparation for making them, I knew I wanted to convey a feeling of spontaneity and randomness, and not get too wrapped up in over-thinking them. I feel they are pretty successful in that regard.

My question for you: How do you manage to get the “thinking” out of the way so that you can create spontaneous art?

Fault Lines - Collage with Hand Painted and Weathered Papers, 5x5"

Fault Lines 2 - Collage with Weathered and Hand Painted Papers, 5x5"

Fault Lines 3 - Collage with Weathered and Hand Painted Papers, 5x5"

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue Cole permalink
    August 23, 2011 9:47 pm

    I put on music, especially new age music, which helps me be more spontaneous
    Sue

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 25, 2011 5:06 pm

    I have a tendency to overthink everything so it carries over to my art. Should I do this or that? Will it look ok to do a color here? Constantly.
    But recently I dropped some papers onto my surface. I held several in my hand and just let go over the piece and viola I loved what happened. Yes I did have to move the papers a bit but the overall effect was spontaneous!
    pat q

    • August 25, 2011 5:17 pm

      We all do that, Pat. You’re definitely not alone! I love what you did with the papers. Fabulous idea!

  3. August 25, 2011 6:07 pm

    Very good question. It took me a while to actually say to myself that I am an artist and I am an author .. now I think I want to forget both and just think I am. Music, yes. Accidentally on purpose, yes. Pretending that I’m in kindergarten.

  4. August 25, 2011 7:40 pm

    Fadwa, pretending we’re in kindergarten seems to be the best approach of all! Such abandon. Such freedom!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

