Skip to content

Alternatives: Thinking Outside the Canvas

August 18, 2011

I’ve been thinking about a variety of interesting art materials and media lately (naturally when my schedule won’t allow me to get to the studio. I’ve come to the conclusion that inspiration increases in inverse proportion to the time available.)

This video illustrating plaster and wax techniques for interiors has my head spinning with possibilities for achieving texture and depth in paintings. I’m not fond of commercial wax because of the solvent, but would be willing to think about encaustic over plaster, or even my usual acrylic gels. Also shown at the end of the video is a short explanation of frescoes, which are a time-honored fine art tradition. I like the immediacy of plaster vs. the waiting with the gesso and acrylic textural media I’ve been using.

In the following video interview, LA artist David Palmer discusses his discovery of linoleum as a fine art medium, which he says came about when he wanted to create a series of images based on aerial views of the earth’s features. His Flatlands series of paintings in linoleum and vinyl on wood is found here on his website.

This is the brief discussion about the thought process behind the paintings:

And in this longer video, “Making a Leap” goes into the thought process that led to the linoleum series:

Finally, out of curiosity I was doing a search early this morning for alternative art materials, and turned up an amazing store in Vancouver BC called Urban Source. This is a fabulous idea for reusing and recycling scrap and waste materials. I wish I could go there, but for now I’ll rely on the local hardware and building supply stores as favorite places for inspiration.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 6:46 pm

    You can make your own cold wax medium by heating beeswax removing from the heat and mixing in either pure gum turpentine not the mineral type or a citrus based solvent like citra solv. Start with a 50/50 mix but you may want to solvent depending on the consistency you are looking for.

  2. Sue Cole permalink
    August 19, 2011 2:29 am

    There’s a place in Berkeley CA called S.C.R.A.P. for recycled things, you bring some, you take some. I wish they had one heree.
    Sue

  3. August 19, 2011 12:52 pm

    Interesting videos. I’ve used dental grade plaster as a surface – even on fabric. It’s a good surface for monoprinting – but I’m not sure about putting it through the computer, LOL

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

