Skip to content

Collage: Instant Gratification

August 12, 2011
tags:

Time Travel - Collage, 4x6"

Today was another day to stay in my office and work on digital art. Other family members took a turn today with my aunt in rehab (thank you, thank you!)

I get so engrossed in working with Corel Painter that I literally forget to leave the chair for hours at a time. So once I realized I couldn’t sit there for another minute, I headed out to the studio to make a collage.

This little collage started out as a painting that was marginally successful, and it sat here for a couple of years. Here is the “before” picture below. I’m pleased with the outcome after having added collage elements.

Small scale collage is the perfect way to get instant art gratification.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 8:31 am

    and I love small scale. we have a couple of prints from a trip to Europe that are 2 x 2 in tiny frames. lovely. make me smile. good that you can find some time for you.

    • August 15, 2011 3:47 pm

      Jennifer, I’ll never forget some little drawings I saw in a New York gallery (my only gallery trip there, sadly, so far) that ranged in size from 2-1/2 to 5 inches square, matted with big generous borders, that were simple and exquisite.

  2. August 14, 2011 9:46 am

    I like them both and they each have such a different feel.

    • August 15, 2011 3:48 pm

      Thanks, Laurel. I don’t really dislike the first version, but it just sat there as a one-off and I knew I’d never do anything with it.

  3. August 15, 2011 7:23 am

    I like them both too! I would be interested in knowing why you thought ‘before’ was not successful. Non objective art is curious that way.

    • August 15, 2011 3:50 pm

      LOL, Virginia! Please refer to my previous comment response that I just typed. I’m like you in that it’s hard to pin down what “works” and what doesn’t. I may look at that picture a year from now and wonder what I was thinking.

  4. August 17, 2011 4:28 am

    Yes, working in small scale is good. Not all the time – however, it is also portable, so I was able to take a little bit away with me to help me relax after a hard day at the show. Thanks for showing us the before and after. I definitely prefer the after – but the before was pretty good too!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

