Skip to content

Fast Image Transfer with Melanie Matthews

August 8, 2011

Since some family things are keeping me from the studio right now, I thought I’d share this really great video from Golden Paints. I hope it inspires you to think of ways to use this technique. I know I’m inspired. While you’re visiting their YouTube Channel be sure to poke around for more really fun videos on acrylic techniques. Every time I’m there I find something new and exciting.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 11:23 pm

    Thank you for these inspirational videos from You Tube. I have had a very rough day health wise and the news from my retirement board was not great either. I think the best thing to do is to just keep my mind and heart busy and make my ART! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  2. August 9, 2011 7:01 am

    Thanks Martha. Most of my art lately involves image transfers, but I have never attempted to transfer onto canvas. It can’t possibly be as easy as it looks here! Anytime I’ve transferred directly onto board or a primed canvas I ‘ve gotten a patchy effect and it is very easy to disrupt the toner when rubbing off the paper. I noticed she did not use water to rub off the paper which is how I usually do it. Have you tried this yourself?

    • August 9, 2011 10:02 am

      Margaret, I’ve never done it on canvas, nor on this large scale. But I have done transfers onto paper and also fabric. You’ve gotten it about right. There needs to be a very even cover of medium and it needs to be very dry. The toner is indeed easy to damage, and like you I also use water (with a damp cloth covering my finger.) Gentle rubbing and plenty of water are the key.

  3. August 10, 2011 5:59 am

    I have seen this one before, but had forgotten about it so thanks for the reminder. I’d love to give it a shot on canvas. And you know the other thing? I want her studio and stash of Golden supplies 😉

  4. August 17, 2011 4:36 am

    This is a useful technique. I’d forgotten about it too. Thanks for the share!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

