Skip to content

Sunflowers Inside and Outside

August 3, 2011

Three Sunflowers - Digital Drawing on Painted Paper Background

Today I tried to spend just a little bit of time outside cleaning up some areas of the garden, moving the tomato plants that are in pots to a location that gets more shade. Right now the sun is frying everything that isn’t shaded. The butternut squash vines just croaked, but I think that’s their natural life span kicking in. The squashes are big and ripe and a deep orange. I couldn’t stay out there long enough to cut those off because it was just too damn hot to be in the sun for more than a few minutes at a time. I’ll have to wait till tomorrow for that.

We’ve hired our neighbor’s teenaged son to do some weeding and mulching, but I sent him home before noon. It was 104 today by 1 p.m.! Even a young person doesn’t need to be out in this.

So . . . back in the cool and to the computer to practice my Adobe Illustrator drawing skills. It’s a lot like practicing scales on the piano. It’s the only way to get from “here” to “there.”

Meanwhile, the sunflowers in the garden are doing pretty well considering the heat.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 4:10 am

    Your series of lovely paper collages,and your digital experiments have spurred me on. I’ve been so busy that creativity has flown out of the window. I love teaching my textile techniques, but preparing for another new lesson often means just going over old ground in a new way. Gradually I’ve begun to steal odd moments (usually in the early morning before DH is out of bed, LOL). Apart from my little fragments – which need a sewing machine to complete, I’ve been using some of my massed papers. Some of my 20 minute efforts are here. I’d love some constructive critiscism if you have time.

    http://chittlechattle.wordpress.com/one-a-day-collage/

    • August 5, 2011 10:33 am

      Your collages are wonderful, Sassa. I love the translucency and the delicate colors. I’m totally inspired! I know what you mean by the busy-ness of life getting in the way of creative play. There has to be a balance somewhere, don’t you think?

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 5, 2011 9:10 am

    the sun flowers just lit up my world….it is to hot here too but can fall be far behind?? i will keep that thought to get me through a summer that i should be used to by now but looks like i never will be.looking forward to your new work from that computer thingie.margaret

    • August 5, 2011 10:18 am

      Margaret, I don’t know why I didn’t grow sunflowers before! They are so forgiving and magnificent. Such pure beauty. (And an art inspiration as well!)

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

