Skip to content

Catch Up Day in the Studio

August 1, 2011

Untitled - Collage with Weathered Papers, 8x8"

The garden has really kicked in now. The weekend was busy with that — the watering and the weeding and the harvesting. Tomatoes are just about ready to ripen, and the butternut squash are abundant. The cucumbers are amazing too.

For the longest time I have had fond memories of wonderful garlicky fermented pickles that we used to get years ago at Ronnie’s Restaurant in Orlando, Florida. No matter what you were ordering they would bring out bowls of these pickles and an assortment of artisan breads and butter. So this weekend I went on a search and amazingly found the recipe. So I gathered up my freshest cucumbers and made a batch of these pickles. They are curing in an enameled pot as we speak, on the studio table where collage is usually happening! The smell is wonderful as I walk through the studio. They are supposed to sit in the “crock” for three days and then in the refrigerator for six before they’re ready to eat.

So today I needed to shift gears back to making art. I’ve made this new collage using my weathered papers, and continue to work on some digital projects. It’s going to be a busy week!

No comments yet

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

