Skip to content

Art is Happening in the Kitchen

July 29, 2011

Today I’m making Eggplant Caponata using the extra eggplants from the garden.

We’ve had eggplant parmagiana and eggplant tempura (a fancy way to say breaded and fried.) I’ve chopped it and mixed it into vegetarian spaghetti sauce. And we’ve shared it with a friend. All the above recipes are delicious, but we just aren’t quite ready to have it again. So caponata is a wonderful way to have eggplant, and it can be canned, just like chutney.

I love caponata on a toasty slice of good bread as an appetizer. One of the best things you can serve your guests (and yourself!)

While I’m doing that I have the laptop in the kitchen so I can run back and forth. I got a newer version of Corel Painter and it’s now installed on the little laptop and my big new notebook computer.

More fun stuff from the computer on the kitchen table . . . Remember these? Now they’re a painting. Well, sort of. This was just practice, but I’m discovering some new approaches to actual physical painting by exploring the program.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2011 1:22 am

    I saw you were in the kitchen Martha and just had to stop by and see what you were cooking… I am impressed with these eggplants. Nicely loosened up!

    • July 30, 2011 8:13 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Terrill. I thought I felt someone looking over my shoulder! Glad you liked the little painting. And the caponata is delicious!

  2. July 30, 2011 1:43 am

    Wow Martha! This is very lovely! Great job. Looks like you are getting the hang of digital artwork just fine. 🙂

  3. July 30, 2011 10:11 am

    So beautiful . . . . . I love eggplant.

    • July 31, 2011 6:42 am

      I do too, Kathryn. It’s a good thing because we have plenty of them with just two plants! Thanks, glad you liked the picture.

  4. July 30, 2011 2:34 pm

    I’m very impressed. Fancy the dish too, they don’t grow well here.. 😦

    • August 2, 2011 3:09 am

      Really, Sassa? That’s too bad. I would have thought eggplants could grow just about anywhere!

      The one thing I wish I could grow is celery, but I have to assume it doesn’t do well in my region, because no one grows it. I hate having to get it from far away.

      Glad you were impressed too. 😉

  5. July 31, 2011 12:40 am

    Oh Martha – those colours are so luscious. Yum!

  6. August 2, 2011 12:28 am

    Just gorgeous!

    • August 2, 2011 3:11 am

      Jilly, thanks so much for stopping by! Wow! So nice to discover your beautiful blog. I want to spend more time there. Congrats on your participation in Seth Apter’s Buried Treasure project.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

