Skip to content

More Papers from the Garden

July 25, 2011

On the Horizon - Collage, 4x4"

This collage is created with weathered papers that I had out in the garden for about four months. If you see staples, that’s because they save time. I’ll glue it later.

The digital painting is going well, but my brain hurts. I love making paintings with photographs in Corel Painter, but there’s so much more when you combine those images with other things like vector files made in Adobe Illustrator. I’ve been forcing myself to learn a little bit every day in Illustrator. I’ll be so glad when it gets easy.

Hope you have big creative plans for the week.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 5:46 pm

    Those papers are luscious – almost look ‘just picked’ with their colors. Just reading about your time on the computer makes my head hurt! Good for you for taking the time to learn it.

  2. July 25, 2011 6:26 pm

    Thanks Judy – glad you like the collage and the papers! I’m looking to bend the learning curve here! 🙂

  3. July 25, 2011 8:51 pm

    Not sure if you’ve noticed but this awesome collage looks like an abstract tomato!! 🙂 Or perhaps it’s something else delicious from your wonderful garden. Haven’t taken the time to learn Corel or Illustrator but know that one day I’ll sit myself down and have to go for it as you are. Look forward to seeing more digital creations as you learn all about it.

    • July 26, 2011 2:48 am

      Tomatoes have definitely been on my mind, Itaya! And of course everything comes out in our art, right?

      I’m truly enjoying the digital art — always have. It seems like “cheating” but I think it’s the wave of the future. It’s so much kinder to the environment.

  4. July 25, 2011 9:28 pm

    I have to say …something that is a cliche …often but oh so true this moment. Your newest collage is breathtaking! I love the colors and textures. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • July 26, 2011 2:51 am

      Thank you for that, Mary Helen! It helps that these papers are so varied in their thickness and color. The great outdoors does wonderful things to paper!

  5. July 26, 2011 3:31 am

    Another lovely one! What are you going to do with all these wonderful creations we have seen recently? (This one reminds me of a radish)

    Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog too.

    • July 26, 2011 4:35 am

      Thanks Sassa! I usually put all my collages in my Etsy shop, but I have quite a stash of them right now that I haven’t listed. They do sell on occasion.

  6. July 26, 2011 3:32 am

    By the way, I don’t think occasional staples matter. They don’t detract, and are ‘another way’ of holding things together.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

