Skip to content

Today’s Studio Update

July 22, 2011

This is a new collage using random pieces from my huge pile of collage papers. I’m enjoying working this way. When I trim or tear a piece of paper to make it fit the composition I’m working on, I just toss the remainder back in the pile. You wouldn’t believe it if you could see how tiny many of my saved pieces are. But if you do that, you’ll find some really interesting snippets.

Waterfall - Collage, 4x4"

And the following two are just ones that I haven’t shown in this blog before. They are in my Etsy shop (I think!)

Sun Wise - Collage, 4x4"

Fading Memory - Collage, 4x4" on 10x8" Backing

I’m still working/playing very hard at learning not just Corel Painter, but have finally decided to teach myself a whole bunch more about Adobe Illustrator. Things are going well with both. If you have any inclination to learn a new art form, I highly recommend both programs. There are so many free tutorials (some good and others not so good.) If I ever decide I can afford it, I’ll also subscribe to Lynda.com. Excellent digital art training.

In between all that excitement, I take garden breaks. The garden is still going crazy. We are loaded with tomatoes, some of them huge, and only a few are ripe yet. And I failed to mention before that we have a little melon patch. We have both watermelons and cantaloupes. It was just kind of an afterthought and I planted them in a back corner of the yard. I didn’t really expect to get much out of them, but looks like we are going to have success. Here is one of the watermelons, already about 3/4 of the way.

I hope you’re planning a great weekend. I’m hoping mine will be slow and uneventful.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    July 22, 2011 6:14 pm

    that martha is what i call living the american dream……..i too save tiny scraps paper and fabric [just in case]

    • July 25, 2011 6:29 pm

      Yep, living the American dream pretty much says it all. It’s so hard for me to toss out anything with a potential for art. Looks like I’m accumulating a whole new stash after moving.

  2. July 23, 2011 4:12 am

    Another lovely collage, and finally I’m brave enough to add one to my site! I’ve been working on a series, they are tiny, made with the scraps you describe above. The first ones are here. Nothing special, just perfecting a new technique.
    http://miniartworks.wordpress.com/
    Telling you is a bit like ‘coming out’, LOL

  3. Carolyn Bock permalink
    July 23, 2011 8:46 am

    I am loving your newsletter posts … and your garden, both the edible and inedible(collage) variety! Especially like Fading Memory, too … thanks!

    • July 25, 2011 6:32 pm

      Thank you, Carolyn! It’s so nice to know you’re enjoying the posts — and the collage!

  4. July 25, 2011 4:36 am

    Love the collage Martha – the first thing that came to mind for me with the pink was a French seam. Funny the connections our brains make. Hope all your fur-babies are well.

    • July 25, 2011 6:33 pm

      I love how art triggers some little memory or connection, Cath. Thanks! The babies are doing OK so far.

  5. July 25, 2011 6:06 pm

    Your collages are really lovely Martha! I have lots of tips and tutorials for learning Corel Painter on my blog if you are interested check it out! Found you thru Twitter! Cool eh!

    • July 25, 2011 6:33 pm

      Thanks, Joan! I will definitely check that out. I love what Painter can do and am really going to enjoy it. Twitter is great, I agree!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

