Skip to content

An Amazing Sunflower and a New Collage

July 20, 2011

Here’s another sunflower from my tiny little patch. I had planted two different seed packets, and one of them had seeds that were a gift from our granddaughter Jill, who is getting married in October. They had the seed packets printed like a wedding invitation and the seeds are symbolic of their future together.

This is one if Jill’s sunflowers. I have never before seen deep orange sunflowers! They’re called Red Sun:

I originally thought hers would be yellow, but the ones from my packet are decidedly lemon yellow. So the deep orange ones have to be hers. Nothing short of amazing color.

And here’s a collage that I created during one of my breaks from digital art.

Fragments - Collage with Weathered Papers, 8x8"

I hope the middle of your week has found you happily creating, and staying cool if you live anywhere in the US heartland.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 5:16 pm

    What a beautiful color, never seen one that orange before.

    • July 22, 2011 2:33 pm

      I hadn’t either, Kathryn! Makes me smile every morning when I walk out there with my coffee.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    July 20, 2011 5:25 pm

    i too have never seen a sunflower that color but….i am not surprised, it is so rich ..i want one.

    you seem to be on a roll with those collages…cool..margaret

    • July 22, 2011 2:33 pm

      Thanks Margaret! You should get some of those seeds. If I’m successful saving some of them, I’ll send you a few.

  3. July 20, 2011 6:20 pm

    That sunflower is stupendous – and what a great idea for a wedding invitation. And I love your collage – the colors are just perfect.

    • July 22, 2011 2:34 pm

      Thank you, Judy! I really loved their idea for the seeds. And if you knew them, you’d know it’s just the perfect thing. Glad you like the collage!

  4. pat q permalink
    July 20, 2011 9:22 pm

    Hi Martha:
    I love the new collage and that sunflower is incredible in its color. What a great idea for wedding invitations..seeds.
    I enjoyed your granddaughter colorful painting yesterday. Such freedom and color!
    Here in the northeast it is in the high 90’s and humid. I am very glad I have AC. I did go check on an elderly neighbor. Isn’t this heat unbelievable? Stay cool.
    pat q

  5. July 20, 2011 10:06 pm

    I have too many deer on the hills around my house but I do love sunflowers and just enjoying yours fills me with joy! The collage is wonderful…the weathered pages are wonderful to behold. Peace, Mary Helen

    • July 22, 2011 2:35 pm

      Glad you are enjoying the sunflowers. My patch is really tiny — a little wedge in the fence corner that holds only about a dozen. I want a whole field of them! So glad you liked the collage too.

  6. July 21, 2011 2:14 am

    What a stunning sunflower. I’ve never seen one that colour either. Love the collage – and really wish we had some of your heat. It is cold enough for November, and I even shivered in bed last night. Definitely duvet time!

    • July 22, 2011 2:37 pm

      Sassa, I kind of miss shivering! I know that when that time comes I’ll be complaining that I’m freezing. Glad you liked the sunflower and the collage!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

