Skip to content

New Collages and a Veggie Trade

July 14, 2011

Mirror Writing - Collage with Weathered Papers 8x8"

Yesterday was a good day both inside and outside the studio.

First thing in the morning I watered and weeded a little before the extreme humidity forced me inside. That never takes more than several minutes.

After cooling off inside, I headed to the studio and spent a few hours working on digital images and collages. Since my files are so huge and my computer tends to chug along at times, I need to wait sometimes for an image to update. When that happens, I twirl my chair around to the table and work on a collage or two. Then I turn back around and work at the computer again while the glue dries.

Then I got a call from my husband telling me that he was bringing home two gallons of blackberries. He got a steal of a deal on them, which translates to: They are very ripe!

So I stopped what I was doing and dealt with those, which entails gently washing them, draining them all in a single layer on a soft towel and letting them dry, then freezing them in single layers, then bagging them. These will be jam and pies later, so no problem with freezing them.

In the middle of all this, I got a call from a friend who needed to unload some of his zucchini, which pleased me because I had plenty of eggplant to share with him. He came over, I gave him a glass of iced tea for the garden tour, and we talked gardens for a little bit. Now I have about 10 pounds of zucchini in the freezer, which I cut and bagged in about 30 minutes.

Then it was back to the studio until time to make dinner!

Just a note about this garden — things are growing in a rather uncontrolled manner, even the weeds. I thought you might enjoy seeing my volunteer butternut squash vine. What you see with those huge leaves is the vine after being trimmed back. I had to keep it off the adjacent lima beans (foreground) and the volunteer tomato plant next to it (on the right.) It is absolutely loaded with squash! We’ll have plenty to share. My zucchini friend said he would like some. These will keep nicely through the winter.

Note:  In case you hadn’t already guessed, summer is a busy time for me. If I don’t show up my usual five days a week, you’ll know what’s going on.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 9:35 am

    Amazing trip through your summer day Martha. I was just commenting yesterday that my peas that were only suppose to be 2 feet high are now 4 feet tall and hanging over the top of my netting like basketball players.. I didn’t get as much planted as I would like with the preparation it took for my solo show but there are some carrots, a few beets, a bunch of tomatoes, a couple of dill plants and the salad greens are finished already. Time to plant our winter garden now.

    Your “Mirror Writing” has that tattered edge of a busy summer with its quiet centre slowly revealed to those who notice. A lovely piece.

    • July 14, 2011 9:52 am

      Oh Terrill, I would so love to tour your garden. I’m getting seedlings ready now for my fall garden. Mostly cruciferous things and lettuces. And in October I’ll be planting onions and garlic again.

      Thank you for those eloquent words about my collage. So nice.

  2. July 14, 2011 9:59 am

    Wow, check out all those veggies. We really need to pull our fingers out and get one of our own veggie gardens started.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    July 15, 2011 1:33 pm

    i am lovin the new..old paper collages

  4. July 18, 2011 5:22 am

    Love the garden Martha – it looks so green. No, so verdant! It’s winter here so everything looks wet and sad really. Glad you have garden-mates you can swap lovely fresh things with.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

