Skip to content

My Digital Painting Project

July 11, 2011

Here are a couple of practice paintings I’ve done in Corel Painter. These are only two of many that I did last week in an attempt to get more comfortable with the program. I think I’m finally beginning to “get it!”

The picture of a wheat field is from a photograph that I took in Amish Country in Tennessee. The flower is from a photograph taken by a friend. The wheat field is done mostly with digital oil paints and the flower is more of a watercolor style.

 

 

So . . . what’s happening in your studio this week?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    July 11, 2011 10:19 pm

    Martha! This is just too darn amazing! So wish I had your talent. You can do so many styles of painting and now with the computer as well! I love that wheat field painting. I find that kind of subject so romantic.

    • July 14, 2011 9:48 am

      Thank you, Sherrill. That wheat field is an example of the kinds of scenes I love and would love to paint. Maybe if I learn how to paint them on the computer I could do a better job of them in real life! You think?

      PS – I’m no more talented than you. Talent is highly overrated! (Come to think of it, that should be a blog post.)

  2. July 12, 2011 3:27 am

    I agree with Serrill’s comment. I’ve taken some photographs – that is the sum total of my creativity this week. Most of them aren’t much good, I took them from a moving car (DH was driving) but it was a bumpy road!

    • July 14, 2011 9:49 am

      Sassa, I like your idea of stockpiling books for a rainy day! As for the moving car pictures, I do a lot of those. They turn out surprisingly well sometimes.

  3. pat q permalink
    July 12, 2011 9:42 am

    Hi Martha: I think these came out great! Another media to play with, how wonderful.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Pat q

    • July 16, 2011 8:31 pm

      Pat, since you’re a collage lover, you could do some wonderful digital collages. By the way – I’ve said it here before: Photoshop Elements is great and will do just about everything I’m seeing in Corel Painter. It definitely will do anything you can imagine in digital collage and is very affordable.

  4. July 12, 2011 3:48 pm

    Just took a class on faces, so was inspired to try one from one of the blogs I receive. Here it is:

    Carolinesloft.com/blog

  5. July 16, 2011 8:07 pm

    I recently just joined Google+ and i found your website for ‘digital painting’ as the first link to come up under the search. I have used Corel Painter a little in my paintings. Have you ever tried using the ‘papers’ tool?

    Its really nice because you can scan in any texture you desire and use that texture over and over in your paintings. Its really nice.

    Hope everything works out well with your painting creativity!

  6. July 16, 2011 8:24 pm

    Thank you for your suggestion, coldwhitefire. I definitely plan to experiment with different virtual papers. My immediate project requires that the images have no texture, because they will be printed onto textures. Thanks so much for finding my blog!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

