Skip to content

Feeding My Book Addiction

July 7, 2011

There are few things more pleasing to me than seeing new books arrive at my door. I really am addicted to books, especially if they have anything to do with art and creative inspiration.

I don’t know about you, but I need a big stack of inspiration books around so that I can pick one up at random on any given day and get a little bit of impetus for a new experiment. Don’t tell anyone, because this is just between the two of us: I can  read the same book over and over, and still get a new perspective, another little nugget that I hadn’t seen before, an angle on something I’ve been working on that I hadn’t considered before.

If I let a book sit for a while — say maybe even a year or more — it will have a whole new meaning for me when I revisit it. The way I learn is through blind exploration, but guided by inspiration from many sources. Reading and looking and being inspired is a whole different experience when fed by my own discoveries in the real world of the studio.

These two new books that were in my mailbox today look delicious and I can’t wait to add them to the pile of inspiration.

The top one is The Decorative Painter’s Colour Shaper Book (remember my big colour shaper? Now I want more of them!)

And the bottom one is Scraps, an Inspirational Field Guide to Collage. Who could resist this beautiful cover!

I can’t wait for my next reading break.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2011 2:32 pm

    Completely addicted to inspiration (coffee table or instructional) books too!!!
    Mine are always catching paint splatters, as I keep them open around me while I work.

  2. July 9, 2011 4:46 am

    Oooooo Martha! I must introduce myself! You are a woman that takes after my own heart: we share so much in common! Gardening, intuitive creativity, reading, writing, art, food, spirit! I’ve put you on my favourites list.
    Debrina altered: come over and see me sometime. I know a poetic soul when I see one!

  3. July 10, 2011 9:09 pm

    Wow. I could have written this post. I absolutely love books and magazines. I can read and re-read over and over again. I most emphatically love art and inspirational books and mags. I can never get enough. The words of wisdom and the eye candy that I find is so addicting that I just can’t help myself.

  4. July 11, 2011 7:39 pm

    Oooooo, these both look good! I haven’t used a shaper yet, but looks like great fun. I will check them out!

    • July 14, 2011 9:47 am

      Jennifer, I think they’d be great with creating painted papers for collage, etc. Maybe even home made gift wrap. I don’t want to even think about decorating little household objects. Too much inspiration, too little time! 😉

  5. July 12, 2011 3:29 am

    I buy books, but then have no time to even flick through them. I keep telling my DH that I’m buying them while I have the cash, and will read them when I don’t. Frankly, I want to read them LOOOOOOONG before that!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

