Skip to content

Collage – “Subliminal Messages”

June 30, 2011

Subliminal Messages - Collage with Weathered Papers 8x8" on 11x14 Background

A collage a day? That’s not too bad, though I’d love to just sit there and make a few more. But the garden is my taskmaster and must be obeyed. It makes me happy that my art and my life are becoming a seamless whole.

Today our sweet dog Boomer had another surgery. He just got home and is amazingly alert and perky. I imagine he will do a lot of resting tonight, though. We’ve given him his pain meds just in case he needs them. Dogs can’t tell you when they hurt.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 8:27 pm

    I hope Boomer is feeling better. Surgery is so hard when they don’t know what is going on.

  2. June 30, 2011 9:02 pm

    I know, Lottie. I feel so bad for him. He’s doing great under the circumstances.

  3. July 1, 2011 2:23 am

    I know what you mean about the garden being the task master right now. I am torn about what I need to do each day. Maybe when the temps get in the 3 digits, I won’t feel so guilty about staying inside and making art!

    • July 1, 2011 6:12 am

      Teri, ours will get there all to soon. We’ve had a beautiful couple of weeks of off-and-on cooling rain. The mornings are glorious. But I’m bracing for the July and August heat. And I’m with you. All I need is an excuse to stay inside, and it really doesn’t take much!

  4. Sandra permalink
    July 1, 2011 3:39 am

    My very best wishes to Boomer for a complete and speedy recovery. And how wonderful that your life and art are becoming a seamless whole – I am so pleased for you. I retired this afternoon, feel a little depressed (wonderful colleagues just had it with working). Hoping to do some painting over week-end to cheer myself up, seeing it is too cold and the soil is too wet to garden (mid-winter).

    • July 1, 2011 6:11 am

      Sandra, thanks for the good wishes for Boomer. I know that this big change in your life will take some getting used to. I hope your art will open up some new discoveries for you.

  5. July 1, 2011 9:44 am

    The garden as taskmaster, love that. I have been stuck in my studio for too long working on a deadline, time to get out there and play with the weeds.

    Hugs to Boomer and all the citters.

    • July 1, 2011 11:11 am

      I know, Kim. It’s so nice to be out there walking the garden in the early morning. The weeds are starting to grow with the same gusto as the veggies now. For right now I’m mostly ignoring them.

      I now have my copy of the current issue of Cloth Paper Scissors with your beautiful art on the cover and the fabulous article about you! I also love what the editor did using your dress images for herself as a paper doll!!! That was too cool. I’m going to put a plug in for you in today’s blog post.

      Thanks for the hugs!

  6. July 1, 2011 4:44 pm

    Poor Boomer, he can’t even help you in the garden. I don’t subscribe to CP&S – I’ll look out for it.

    • July 4, 2011 6:36 pm

      Sassa, you would love that magazine. It’s always full of fun and inspiring things. As for Boomer, he’s doing very well and will be back poking around in the garden in no time!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

