Skip to content

Happiness is a Cookin’ Compost Pile

June 29, 2011

Happiness Is a Cookin' Compost Pile, Art Quilt by Vasha Rosenblum

Detail from "Happiness Is" Quilt

A few weeks ago my friend and neighbor Betty Hughes attended a big quilt show in Birmingham, Alabama. She saw an art quilt that she immediately knew I would love, so she took a picture of it.

Betty is a wonderful quilter in her own right, and yet her approach is to push the boundaries of color and pattern within a traditional set of parameters. We’ve talked about our different approaches to visual media, and early on she had me pegged. She knew that if I were to take up quilting, it would be strictly free form and done in a “scrappy” kind of style.

Another fun thing that we share is gardening. Betty isn’t gardening this year, but I suspect it’s the first time in a long time. She’s more experienced at gardening than I am with my experimental approach to the whole thing. Still, she’s vicariously enjoying my adventures over the fence and keeps me supplied with her kitchen scraps for my compost pile.

When I saw Betty’s picture of the quilt, I immediately went on a search for the artist. I just had to show it to my readers! All I had was her name, and I knew she must be someone working in the Birmingham area. So I got on Google and found a website for her. To my delight, Vasha replied to my email and said she would be happy for me to show the quilt here, and gave me this description of her thought process:

Compost piles are something I know intimately, so it was a fun project to do. I would be happy for you to to show it on your blog. That was my beginning as an art quilter – done in response to a Guild challenge – “Happiness is . . . ” For me, the answer to that question was a “Cook’in Compost Pile”. It had to have 2 square inches of red somewhere (didn’t have to be square), and at least 2 flying geese. I teach the Junior Master Gardener class at Aldridge Gardens with 16 children, grade 3 and up, who each have their own raised bed to grow veggies, herbs, and flowers. And, we have 2 compost bins!

It’s wonderful to find kindred spirits both in art and life philosophy. I feel sure you will love this quilt. My sincere thanks to Vasha for sharing her art, and to Betty for knowing that I’d love it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 6:47 am

    Haha, what a unusual but really fun quilt. I love visiting quilt exhibitions, it’s so inspiring to see others works. 🙂

    PS: Update your link to my site in your sidebar, thanks! Take care!

  2. June 30, 2011 7:00 am

    Martha – That’s such a great quilt and I love the serendipity of your story. What fun for you to find kindred spirits.

  3. Betty permalink
    July 5, 2011 9:28 am

    Thanks for the kind words Martha! I am convinced (for many reasons) that I have the best neighbors in the world. A neighbor who is actually happy for me to throw my garbage over the fence…..how cool is that!?

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

