Skip to content

New Collage and Roasted Beets

June 28, 2011

Capricious Nature - Collage with Weathered Papers, 8x8" on 11x14 Background

These new weathered papers add a whole new dimension to my collage stash. I’m glad to have more now, because when there is plenty of anything available, creativity tends to flow more freely.

For more information on weathered papers, click here.

Yesterday was spent mostly in the garden pulling up beets and other things like weeds. I roasted several big beets and pickled a quart of small sliced ones. There are lots more coming. We planted a lot of beets because they are a special treat for my husband. I like them too, but he loves them! Not only did I peel and process beets, I cleaned up the greens and saved the large ones for cooking and made a salad last night from the small and delicate ones.

If you like beets, try them roasted whole. It’s a wonderful way to concentrate the flavor and they are fabulous in a salad.

To roast beets: coat whole, unpeeled beets in a little olive oil, sprinkle on a dash of Kosher salt, and roast the same length of time that you would bake a potato. I like to do them at 400 degrees for 1 hour. You can do several at once and they will keep for a week. When they are served, the peeling will just fall away as you cut them into pieces. But you can also eat the peel right with the beets.

Roasted beets are great on a bed of mixed greens with walnuts and crumbled gorgonzola cheese. A simple vinaigrette completes the salad.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    June 28, 2011 8:00 pm

    Martha! Collage and beets – YUM!!!!!!

  2. Terry permalink
    June 28, 2011 8:04 pm

    BTW – I forgot to say “YES to the pool anytime”! We’d have a blast I’m sure.

  3. June 29, 2011 3:57 am

    Yum, I love beets – all parts! I also use them for a crunchy side salad.

    Grate RAW beets (don’t be frightened of this!) with a little onion
    Add a handful of peanuts, or other nuts, sunflower seeds and raisins.
    Pour over a vinaigrette of good oil and vinegar (I prefer more vinegar to oil) and leave for a couple of hours. It looks lovely on a bed of lettuce.

    • June 29, 2011 8:39 am

      Me too, Sassa. And I’ve had raw beets before. They’re yummy. This sounds great and I’ll definitely do it. Thanks!

  4. June 29, 2011 3:58 am

    Oops! Got so focussed on the beets I forgot to say that those weathered papers are wonderful!

    • June 29, 2011 8:40 am

      LOL! I don’t know what excites me more, compost and what it creates or “composted papers” and the art that results. Both can transform things in a magical way.

  5. June 29, 2011 10:23 am

    Oh, I love beets but I have never had them roasted, thank you for the recipe! Lovely collage too.

    • June 29, 2011 10:47 am

      Definitely try them Jane. They’re different from beets done any other way. Glad you liked the collage.

  6. pat q permalink
    June 29, 2011 10:39 am

    Hi:
    Love the new( old) collage. Love the color combo.

    I do love beets and will have to try and roast them too. Sounds delicious. I have roasted vegetable before, potatoes, carrots, sweet pot., onions parsnip tossed all together with olive oil, salt and pepper on cookie sheet in hot oven. I remember sprinkling with rosemary last time I made them. So yummy
    Patq

    • June 29, 2011 10:46 am

      Pat, I love roasting all kinds of root vegetables just the way you descibe. Beets could go right in there! Glad you liked the collage.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

