Skip to content

Two New Collages Using the Same Papers

June 22, 2011

Untitled 1 and 2 (because they don’t have titles yet)
Collage with hand painted papers, each 5 x 5″

These two collages were made using one small selection of papers. I chose them from my pile that I showed in my blog post last Thursday. This is another way to keep a cohesive series together.

Still learning Corel Painter this week. I really love it, but it’s slow going. But not really, when you think about it. My usual way to learn a software program is by trial and error and discovery over a period of  months or maybe even years. This time I’m forcing myself to go through the tutorials, step by step, and take notes. The next phase will be practice.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 10:45 pm

    I am anxious to see how you like the corel painter tutorial. I will be watching closely to see how you continue to develop your unique style. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • June 23, 2011 12:01 pm

      Mary Helen, I love the tutorial. I hope to show off some of the things I’m learning in the not to distant future.

  2. Sandra permalink
    June 23, 2011 3:52 am

    Great creativity Martha, as always. I’d never managed series work but suddenly have ideas for a couple. One I am working on is “floating free”, in nice bright colours, inspired no doubt by my upcoming retirement – only one week to go!! Am so happy.

    • June 23, 2011 12:00 pm

      Sandra, I’m so excited for you! I know you’re going to get that free-floating feeling pretty soon!

  3. June 23, 2011 5:06 am

    Being a wimp, I gave up on Corel draw! Yes, I know I should give it another go – but I don’t feel strong enough yet :o)

    Love the mini series!

    • June 23, 2011 11:59 am

      Sassa, I used to use CorelDraw and Corel PhotoPaint exclusively. More PhotoPaint than the Draw program. It’s been a very long time — years, to be exact — but my memory tells me CorelDraw is a vector program. Now I have Illustrator for that purpose, but I’m not very good at it!

  4. June 23, 2011 10:35 am

    Before I retired I taught various computer programs to adults and high school students. I often had to learn a program days before I had to teach it. I found that I learned by doing, rather than reading; Or just skimming the instructions. You can do it!

    • June 23, 2011 11:57 am

      Yes, Caroline – I’ve learned many programs the old fashioned way. However, I have to say I’m enjoying the DVD tutorials. They just put me to sleep after about an hour, so I have to move around a bit and come back.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

