Skip to content

How Fast Can You Make Dinner?

June 21, 2011

Untitled – Collage with Hand Painted Papers, 5 x 5″

Yesterday at 4 p.m. I got a call from my husband on his way home, asking me if I was up for having my sister and my niece over for dinner. Of course I said yes. Our extended family dinners are a frequent occurrence and are usually served at six. Everybody’s casual and so there’s never any pressure. Except for yesterday.

Between 4 and six, I:

  • Finished the blog post I had started
  • Took the freezer bag of chicken pieces out of the freezer and put that in a pan of warm water to defrost
  • Took a long-overdue shower and shampoo from my morning in the garden
  • Fed the dogs and cat
  • Took the dogs out for a potty break
  • Made an arugula salad and a homemade vinaigrette
  • Tossed new potatoes in olive oil, rosemary and garlic and put them in a baking pan
  • Tossed the defrosted chicken pieces in a bag with a bunch of oil and seasonings and put that in another baking pan
  • Threw the two baking pans in the oven for 45 minutes
  • Put on a pot of English peas
  • Set the table
  • Made a pitcher of sweet tea (the House Wine of the South)

Whew!

But dinner was good, and all of the veggies came from our garden. That was the best part.

The collage shown here is one of the collages that I did last Thursday that I blogged about here.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 9:45 am

    I would love to know how to make sweet tea. I’m from Canada and it is always a treat when we travel but it is not something that is made and served up here.

    BTW, dessert???? ttfn Lottie

    • June 21, 2011 10:59 am

      Lottie, dessert is another southern tradition. I had forgotten that “rule” but it’s served after both lunch and dinner. But I really do play down dessert, and have stopped apologizing if I don’t have it.

      Sweet tea is just a pitcher of tea that you add sugar to, to your taste. I add a rounded half cup of sugar to a 2-quart pitcher of tea that’s still warm. That way the sugar dissolves more easily. We don’t like it syrupy sweet, so this turns out to be just right for us. By the way, if you don’t usually make pitchers of tea, I make 2 quarts at a time with either a family size tea bag or 4-6 regular size ones, depending on how strong you like it.

  2. June 21, 2011 2:03 pm

    It’s surprising how much you can do when there is little time. Sounds good to me!

    • June 22, 2011 3:49 pm

      Yes, Sassa, sometimes we surprise ourselves. Truth be told, I’ve had a lot of practice from my years of working 9 to 5 and then making dinner.

  3. June 21, 2011 4:53 pm

    Excellent tips Martha!

  4. Terry permalink
    June 21, 2011 8:48 pm

    Congratulations Martha. If there was a prize for multi-tasking you would certainly be the recipient! This post is hilarious! Actually made me feel a little guilty for goofing off in the pool. I said “a little”. Now give yourself a well deserved rest. LOL, Terry

  5. pat q permalink
    June 21, 2011 10:06 pm

    Martha:
    Just proves a woman can do anything she is challenged with….you certainly got a lot done in a short period of time. Applause, applause!!
    My previous neighbor of over 25 years (unfortunately she moved 3 years ago back home to N.C.) always had a pitcher of sweet tea in the summer. I absolutely loved it and keep trying to mimic hers but it’s not quite the same. Perhaps it is my dear friend’s company that added to its taste.
    I like you newest collage. Color combo is perfect.
    Pat q

  6. June 21, 2011 11:10 pm

    You are one amazing wonder woman!!! Sounds delicious ..you smell goo…the dogs are happy and Iced Tea id the best house wine in the whole South! Peace, Mary Helen

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

