Skip to content

A Visit to Amish Country

June 20, 2011

On Saturday Jim and I took a short little drive to Amish country, just a few miles over the Tennessee line. It’s always a joy to drive out through this scenic area and to visit some of the farms.

We’re already planning ahead for what produce we want to buy from the farms to supplement what we get from our little garden. I’m very committed to buying locally as much as possible. So we stopped by a farm where we had purchased a gallon of raspberries last year and tomatoes for canning. Our jars of jam are already gone, and we are just about down to the last of the frozen berries. The farmer’s wife and three little girls came out to greet us. We asked about the raspberries and she told us that a new crop will be available in late July. So we bought a few tomatoes (we don’t have any of ours yet) and said we’d see her next month.

On the way back home, a bank of clouds gathered, and the wind blew threateningly. I think they must have gotten a nice summer shower, but by the time we got home the clouds had mostly thinned out. We weren’t so lucky this time.

Here are some of my pictures from the afternoon.

Somehow I’m able to breathe just a little more deeply when I can get out and see the horizon with an expanse of trees and farms. It was a wonderful break.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 10:59 pm

    I always learn from my Amish neighbors north of where I live….so focused and tranquil. Thank you for sharing your trip back in time. Peace, Mary Helen

    • June 21, 2011 7:16 am

      So do I, Mary Helen. I always get a good feeling around them. I’m glad they’re close by.

  2. June 21, 2011 1:05 am

    I love days like this… just moseying along catching things as they come. Thanks for taking us with you Martha.

    • June 21, 2011 7:17 am

      It was overdue, Terrill! My husband got me out of the house for the first time in a week. I was oblivious to the fact I’d been such a hermit — just puttering away here. It was so nice to get out there.

  3. Sandra permalink
    June 21, 2011 1:56 am

    What lovely countryside. I am all for buying locally. We do not have an Amish community here of course but we do have farmers markets selling local produce, so most Saturdays I go to a local one and stock up on fresh, locally-produced food. My pastelling course prevented my going the last two Saturdays but will go again this week-end. The pastelling course was excellent and even though I prefer painting I learned a new method of working which is very useful.

    • June 21, 2011 7:19 am

      Sandra, we have a very good farmer’s market here in town too. I’m so glad to be able to find local produce and eggs. Your pastel course sounds like fun. I hope you find ways to incorporate it into what you’re doing.

  4. June 21, 2011 3:47 am

    Lovely photographs. We grow our own raspberries. Our last jar of jam is almost finished for this year. They don’t fruit until the autumn, so we are trying to eke it out!

    Yes, seeing the ‘big sky’ does help and lift the spirits. Glad you had a good day.

    • June 21, 2011 7:20 am

      Sassa, growing your own raspberries! Ahh, heaven! I think I saw a picture of your jam on your blog, and smiled to know that we both had a supply of it. I do love big sky and expansive landscapes. They do lift the spirits.

  5. June 21, 2011 5:13 am

    How romantic. The fields remind me of my childhood in the country. That’s what harvesting actually looked like in 1954.

    • June 21, 2011 6:34 am

      and: could this be the same place in 1955?

      • June 21, 2011 7:22 am

        Amazing, Eva! It could be the exact same place, just another time. I never tire of these scenes.

      • June 21, 2011 9:46 am

        My Dad took this one on his journey.

  6. June 21, 2011 7:41 am

    Beautiful photos! They remind me of childhood trips to Plain City (OH) not far from where I grew up. Thanks for the virtual trip.

    • June 21, 2011 8:55 am

      Glad you enjoyed them, Jane. It’s funny, when I was a kid living here, we never went up there, so it’s a new world for me.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

