Skip to content

Harvesting Weathered Papers

June 14, 2011

Today I decided it was time to retrieve the bundle of assorted papers that I had placed out in the garden under some leaves and pine needles back in the early spring.

This is what they looked like when I removed them and carefully peeled some of them apart. They are delicate and will not be easy to separate. Right now they still have debris clinging to the surface.

At this stage they were still damp from the ground’s moisture and a little moldy here and there. I didn’t see anything crawling around on them, but just to be on the safe side I put them in my oven at 250 degrees for 20 minutes. This dried them out nicely and I feel sure the heat took care of anything growing inside the folds. The oven’s heat caused them to curl up as they dried.

And as you may already know, I love taking pictures of all kinds of papers. I love these papers and can’t wait to add them to my stash for collage.

Aren’t these beautiful?

Click here for a fairly complete list of  links regarding weathered papers.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Crystal Dominguez permalink
    June 16, 2011 3:05 pm

    Beautiful!! love this idea and enjoy your photos

    • June 16, 2011 4:46 pm

      Welcome aboard, Crystal! Thanks so much for commenting. I promise to show whatever collages come of this.

  2. June 17, 2011 11:12 pm

    These will make wonderful ingredients for future collages.

  3. June 18, 2011 5:28 pm

    Looking good! Can’t wait to see how you use them.

Trackbacks

  1. Liz Ruest » Texture with Gelatin Prints

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

