Skip to content

New Collage – Hidden Clues

June 9, 2011
Hidden Clues – Collage with Weathered and Hand Painted Papers, 6×6″

Today it was back to collage for at least a little while, and it felt very good. There’s nothing like getting acrylic medium under one’s fingernails to feel I’m doing real art. I can get completely engrossed in creating digital art, and lose myself in it completely. It’s an endless source of inspiration and discovery. But when it comes down to it, I need to get just a little bit messy once in a while.

This one is titled “Hidden Clues” and is approximately 6 x 6 inches. It will be mounted on a piece of heavy 11 x 14 watercolor paper, because I feel it needs a lot of breathing space. I photographed this collage out in the harsh bright afternoon sunlight, and you can see the deep cast shadow along the right hand side.

Just a note about the creation of this piece: There are a few staples here and there, plus there is glue underneath some of the elements. There is a weathered piece of corrugated box material in the upper right hand quadrant, just the top layer of the material which also had clear packing tape over it. I wanted to dry the collage as fast as possible in order to get it photographed. I used my heat gun (the kind that you use for embossing mediums) and when the heat got close to that corner of the collage, the clear tape curled away and shrank into a shredded kind of shape. It looks like peeling snake skin. So this collage literally completed itself.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    June 9, 2011 5:46 pm

    Very interesting piece, Martha. You gotta love it when part of the piece carries itself to completion!!

    • June 13, 2011 9:00 am

      Thanks, Terry. I laughed when I saw what was happening and then thought, hey — this will be perfect.

  2. June 9, 2011 9:36 pm

    I agree every now and then you have to down and dirty with sticky fingers ,,,making art is an interactive sport! Have a great weekend…I love the title “Hidden Clues”. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  3. pat q permalink
    June 10, 2011 11:06 am

    Martha I love this new piece. Isn’t it amazing what happens by accident and works so well. Appropriately titled too.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Patq

    • June 13, 2011 9:01 am

      Glad you like, Pat! It is amazing and way more fun than scratching one’s head to try and figure out what to do next.

  4. June 13, 2011 6:16 am

    Really nice reading about how this piece was made. Like it very much.

  5. pat q permalink
    June 14, 2011 4:22 pm

    I have a question. How do you work so small? I have such trouble. Most of my sizes for collage are 10 x 10 illustration board or larger canvases. Every time I try small it grows out of bounds! Is there a trick?

    Also I am assuming you spend time just making some of the papers that you use, other than the buried ones. What paper do you use…bristol, watercolor, sumi, tissue? Colored with acrylics, watercolor, inks? I guess I mean the brown tone abstract papers you use.
    Thanks Martha

    • June 14, 2011 11:13 pm

      Pat, I have the most amazing collection of all kinds of papers. I save every scrap of anything I think can be used in collage. It depends on the look you want. I like fairly thin papers so the collage doesn’t get too bulky, but then again I sometimes like a lot of texture. I think the brown ones you’re referring to are actual brown kraft paper. Not the thick kind, but the kind that’s used as painter’s masking paper. I save it when I get packages that are stuffed with that. But my favorite papers are first the weathered ones and second the ones that I dab with paint in all kinds of ways.

      The first part of your question can be answered with this blog post from last October.

      I hope this answers your questions at least in part. I think a blog post might be in order to recap some of these ideas. Thanks!

  6. June 18, 2011 5:26 pm

    Love it – another masterpiece.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

