Skip to content

Work In Progress, Maybe Final

June 6, 2011

This week has started out busy already, after saying goodbye to our family over the weekend.

The garden came first this morning before it got too hot to work out there, and then I worked or a few hours in PhotoShop on some new images for a design client.

But this painting has waited for me to do something new and show my progress. I last blogged about it here in a post titled No Pretty Paintings Allowed.

This is a progress picture. This version may grow on me, although it hasn’t given me that “aha!” feeling just yet. But what I do like is its natural earthy feel.

Work In Progress – Acrylic and Graphite on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2″

My day job this week is going to be to work on some new design client deadlines. I love this part of my work, because it’s still creative, even though it might not be what I do in the studio when I’m playing.

I’m working on some layered images based on my abstract landscapes. I like what’s happening so far, and hope my client likes them. I blogged about those here.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 8:54 pm

    Love this one Martha. Sure do wish it were about 5x the size. 🙂
    (Hope you note that my e-mail address has changed. Former one’s no longer working properly and I’ll hate it if I can’t get your updates).

  2. June 6, 2011 9:57 pm

    Very much like how this one is shaping up. I recognized it right away as – no pretty paintings allowed. Your digital abstract landscape series seems like a whole new adventure… I am intrigued.

  3. June 7, 2011 2:40 am

    Where do you leave your work when you aren’t sure it’s finished? I leave mine either on my workdesk or a design wall. In fact, this has reminded me about something – and it will be my blog post for today.

  4. June 7, 2011 3:18 am

    I’ve linked to this post as you were my inspiration today. Thanks.

    http://chittlechattle.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/work-in-progress-3/

  5. Dorothy permalink
    June 7, 2011 5:12 am

    I like this. To me at this size it looks rather Klimt- like and maybe that’s due to colour or something.
    Dorothy

    • June 8, 2011 11:03 am

      Thanks, Dorothy. Do you think it’s the pattern and the downward sweeping shape? Maybe that’s it. I love Klimt.

Trackbacks

  1. Work in Progress | Chittle Chattle

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

