Skip to content

New Inspiration in Unexpected Places

May 31, 2011

We had a cookout for 14 people yesterday, so I needed my studio table. That meant removing the table cover made from freezer paper that I’ve been using for the past 3 months. I’d been tempted to take it off anyway, because I love what’s been happening as I use it to mix paints and as a surface for rolling up paint on my brayers.

Since I had to take it off, I decided to photograph the whole piece. What I love about doing this are the unexpected color blends and combinations, as well as the variety of paint application. I like using pieces of these table covers in collage.

And here are some closeups of the same piece. Oh, the possibilities!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    May 31, 2011 7:49 pm

    Martha, that’s just too cool! Hope mine turns out as interesting! Talk about inspiration!

  2. May 31, 2011 8:22 pm

    wow! i see possibilities, too. inspiration comes from anywhere, anytime, doesn’t it?

  3. Joy Resor permalink
    May 31, 2011 8:24 pm

    Sweet! What a wonderful result/idea, and thank you for sharing, Martha. Love it.

  4. May 31, 2011 9:34 pm

    I love this!! I would love to hang a piece of the tablecover or make something crafty out of it. It is beautiful!!

  5. May 31, 2011 10:12 pm

    I love these marks…they are a true gift to future play dates and the possibilities are infinite! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez stewart

  6. June 1, 2011 2:11 am

    Wow! I love it too. Looking forward to seeing what you do with it.

    Hope the party was good too.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

