Skip to content

A Family Week

May 28, 2011

Piper and Abby, 4th of July 2010

Family is everything when you get right down to it. Our youngest son and his family are arriving today to stay for a week. This means our youngest grandchild will be here — a precious little 2-year-old named Piper. We’re really excited to see her (and her parents!) If I were to tell you how old our oldest grandchild is, you wouldn’t believe me. We won’t go there. But I can say that the next youngest one is 21. So we waited a long time for this one.

We’ve spent days trying to make our house livable for a toddler. We’re a little bit very tolerant about dust and pet hair, but we don’t really want Piper to have to deal with that. So I spent all day today on a search-and-destroy mission for dust and pet hair.

Once the house is as clean as I can make it, I’ll relax. Piper will love the garden and the dogs. She hasn’t seen them in almost a year. She’ll also love the cows that a close family friend has right up the road from our house. She’s seen them before, but you know . . .  a little one can forget from one visit to the next.

We planted radishes just for Piper to pick. We also have English peas for her to pick and shell, and some carrots that are still here after wintering over. The carrots aren’t all that fabulous now, but I think she’ll get a kick out of pulling them out of the dirt.

It probably goes without saying that I haven’t gotten anything done in the studio this week, except for my two big digital projects for design clients.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend, and if you’re observing Memorial Day, I hope you will have an opportunity to pause and remember those who have sacrificed so much for the rest of us.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2011 11:43 am

    Martha, having just had a long weekend last weekend that included two of my grandchildren (one is nine years old belonging to my son and the other is 3 months old belonging to my daughter) their parents, my sister and her family and my mom and dad and my mom’s sister, I can totally relate to the importance of family. I am still warm and glowing from the time spent visiting, walking, cooking, eating, swimming (or dipping my toes in which is all I did) and watching a hockey game together.

    Enjoy! I wish you the grandest time every. Terrill

    • May 28, 2011 11:46 am

      Terrill, I immediately thought of you when I wrote this. I loved your pictures! It was evident that everyone had a glorious time. We are blessed, aren’t we?

  2. Sandra permalink
    May 29, 2011 2:53 am

    Gorgeous little grand-daughter. Have a wonderful family time.

  3. pat q permalink
    May 29, 2011 1:18 pm

    How sweet she is..love the photo of grandchild and dog.
    Enjoy your family time. I always wanted to be like the Waltons and have everybody living close by, but alas not to be. But I have many blessings anyway. ( Goodnight John boy…….)
    Patq

  4. May 29, 2011 11:47 pm

    Piper! What a great name. They are both adorable resting on the couch. Happy Memorial Day Weekend.

  5. June 1, 2011 2:12 am

    Adorable!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

