Skip to content

A Non-stop Day

May 24, 2011

Unheard Of - Digital Collage

Today was unexpectedly busy. I had a surprise project added to my schedule that is going to make the rest of the week very tight. I don’t mind, because it’s a design project for a client. I started before breakfast working in PhotoShop to get something that would work for them, and didn’t call it a day until after I had started dinner.

My challenge is to create something similar to the landscapes that I showed here on this blog, but much larger in size and resolution, so that it can be printed 96 inches wide.

I loved these studies, but never figured out what I would be able to do with them in real life. These fall in the category of “pretty paintings” to my mind. But still, I liked them. Now a designer has decided she likes them too.

I’m hoping I can get a series of these done by day’s end tomorrow, because I’ve promised another client some digital images as well. No deadline for the second project, but I’d sure like to get going on it.

Our son and his family are spending next week with us, arriving Saturday. Of course I’m hoping I won’t be chained to the computer while they’re here.

The above collage is something I decided to do for the blog today, since I was already working in PhotoShop. For this composition I made some digital cutouts of a photograph of pavement textures, some painted papers, and some CitraSolv paper from National Geographic Magazine pages.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 4:33 am

    Love the expression “non stop day”, haha, sometimes its just a bit too busy. Love this collage, I would love to sit behind you and watch you work in photoshop, I would learn so much. 🙂

    Take care!

    • May 25, 2011 6:08 am

      Thanks, Hanna. I’m no expert in PhotoShop. I’ve just taught myself to do what needs to be done, but am sure there’s so much more to learn!

  2. May 25, 2011 6:30 am

    i will be anxious to see the results of this busy time. if they are anything like the others i am sure they will be wonderful. have fun with the family

  3. May 25, 2011 6:36 am

    I love the above collage! And your new project sounds interesting — how neat to work in such a large scale. I’d love to sit on your shoulder and watch you work in photoshop too!

    • May 25, 2011 6:55 pm

      Thanks, Judy! I’d love to have a roomful of us sitting around figuring out PhotoShop together! That would be so cool.

  4. May 25, 2011 1:43 pm

    Love this collage! Wouldn’t it look great as a print?

    • May 25, 2011 6:52 pm

      Thank you, Eva! I think it would work well as a print. I might have to think about doing a series of these for my Etsy shop.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

