Skip to content

No Pretty Paintings Allowed

May 23, 2011

Sometimes when a painting hits a snag that stops you in your tracks, you just have to do something drastic. This was one of those paintings. This is the last one of the series of six that I had been working on a month or so ago.

It looked “pretty,” even though I knew it would need more sessions before it would become a real painting.

So this past weekend, I looked at it again, thinking I’d work on it some more. I decided it was going to have to go in a whole new direction, because I don’t want pretty. Anything but!

Well, no one can say it’s pretty now. But this big swath of white paint will cause me to look at it in a whole new way. Now maybe I can help it become a real painting.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 2:05 pm

    What a painting!
    At first glance it could be lookig at a mirror though no reflection perhaps looking at a white wall.
    then again you could be in a ravine looking up
    As always a painting to ponder over

  2. Sandra permalink
    May 24, 2011 2:08 am

    WOW! I shall be so interested to see where this painting goes from here! Watch this space!

    • May 24, 2011 1:00 pm

      LOL Sandra! It’s going to be several days before I get back to it. Son and his family are coming the end of this week and we’re getting stuff ready for them now. Soooo much to do! Tell you what — I’ll title my post Work In Progress Update, so you’ll know it’s the one.

      Thank you!!

  3. May 24, 2011 8:39 am

    Most times I find myself in the predictament of needing a “clean” spot so that I can turn “my experiments” into paintings. You, on the other hand ALWAYS create that special something painting that I adore. It is nice to see that “pros” sometimes need to “rethink and redo.” We, who struggle, think that ALL THE TIME you find the way easily. …….I know it will end up a wonderful work of art. Cheers, Karin Lynn

    • May 24, 2011 1:02 pm

      Well Karin Lynn, the best thing you can learn from an artist who’s been working for a long time is that there are no certainties. It always can be a struggle, or an enigma, or at least a conundrum. 🙂

  4. Karalee Krueger permalink
    May 24, 2011 7:26 pm

    Guess I’m déclassé, but why is pretty such a dirty word? I get why what I refer to as “pinkie-bluie” or “precious” is wrong, but do you not want your paintings to please the eye? Is that not the very definition of pretty?

    • May 24, 2011 8:49 pm

      Karalee, I just don’t want my paintings to be so “pretty” that they become boring. It’s a fine line, I know. Pleasing to the eye is fine, as long as there’s something more — something possibly intriguing to grab the viewer. That’s just my chosen style. But I still absolutely love pretty paintings as long as they’re made by someone else.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

