Skip to content

Like Christmas in May For an Artist

May 20, 2011

There’s nothing much more fun for an artist than opening the front door and finding a box of wonderful brand new art supplies and tools. Even if it’s a business expense, and you really, really need them, it’s still so exciting to open an art present that you bought for yourself.

There was a sale going on at Art Supply Warehouse and I decided to browse their online catalog. This website almost always has something that’s priced a little bit better than you can find elsewhere, which more than makes up for the shipping. And this means a lot for me, because there are no decent art supply stores around these parts anyway.

I wanted a big, honking brush with soft bristles, and I also wanted a “colour shaper” because I had seen a video where one had been used to spread rather thick paint across a flat surface. Like a resilient squeegee with a long handle. So of course this became an urgent need, a “must have!”

Unfortunately, the descriptions on the website weren’t very detailed, because I wanted to know the exact width of the brush that I chose and couldn’t find it. But I ordered both of them anyway.

When they arrived at my door a few days later and I opened them, I did a little happy dance. They will be perfect for so many things. It’s so satisfying to load up a nice, big, soft brush and make a beautiful stroke of color. I’m usually very cheap with brushes because acrylics are death to them anyway. But sometimes I want a really, really luxurious brush.

Here are my brushes. The brush with bristles is a little over 3-1/2″ wide at the end, and is 14″ long! The colour shaper is 3″ wide and 8-1/2″ long.

Here are the links to these two brushes on the Art Supply Warehouse site:

3″ Colour Shaper (for search purposes, make sure you spell colour with the “u”)

Creative Mark MuralMAX Brush #62

And you’re welcome, Art Supply Warehouse. I did it because I like you, and not because you pay me (which you don’t.)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    May 20, 2011 8:56 pm

    Hi Martha. I know what you mean about Christmas in May! My delivery arrived this morning. What fun.

    That new colour shaper you bought looks wonderful. I’ve never seen any but the small ones. Please be sure to show us what you make with it.

    Have a great weekend. Terry

  2. May 20, 2011 9:32 pm

    Ooh-ooh, I want a colour shaper too! I just saw a video where Patti Brady from Golden Acrylics used one in a demo – and had never seen one before. 😉 Congrats on your new art supplies / prezzies. Have fun!

  3. May 21, 2011 5:07 am

    Yes I know the temptation! And I believe in buying the best tools and material. They inspire — they don’t fail or cause trouble — and they last so much longer.

  4. May 21, 2011 9:59 am

    ooh, lovely! Glad they turned out to be what you wanted!

  5. May 21, 2011 11:17 am

    I LOVE new brushes!! These are beauties!

  6. May 23, 2011 5:35 pm

    I’m all smiles because I’ve been looking for a “colour shaper” since I saw the video clip last week. Thanks for the info!
    :0)

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

