Skip to content

Chance Encounter, Collage with Hand Painted Papers

May 19, 2011

Chance Encounter - Collage, 5x5" Mounted on 14x11" Heavy Paper

A piece of advice to any of you who blog: Don’t blog like me. By that I mean don’t wait till the end of the day when a thousand other things are happening, because by then you’ll have way too many distractions and not enough time to get your post written. That’s what happened to me yesterday.

But the problem is, I usually like to talk about the results of what happened in the studio that day, and . . . well, that means I have to do stuff in the studio first.

My days are upside down. Note to self:

  1. Garden time early in the morning, weeding, watering, etc.
  2. Check in with facebook, twitter, Etsy shops. Be quick.
  3. Hit the studio.
  4. Do the blog.
  5. Pat yourself on the back for getting things in the right order for the rest of the day.

This collage made me happy today. I think it fits in with the rest of the ones I’ve been doing lately.

I hope you’re doing work that makes you happy.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. pat q permalink
    May 19, 2011 9:46 pm

    Martha:
    I loved this new collage. Are those unyru fibers you used over your painted papers?

    Maybe going in a logical order takes the fun out of the day??

    • May 20, 2011 7:52 am

      Thank you, Pat! Yes that’s unryu paper – very thick fibers and very delicate paper. Isn’t it wonderful stuff? And secretly I agree with you that being predictable is kind of boring!! 😉

  2. May 20, 2011 2:51 am

    Yes this is charming!
    Does the sketch show a lotus fruit?

    I can’t get myself to keeping the day in order. Sometimes I notice from a feeble and dizzy feeling that I forgot to have breakfast. I never do things in the same way as yesterday.

    • May 20, 2011 7:48 am

      Oh, Eva, I never forget to have breakfast! But after that, it seems I just sort of go from one thing to another. After all, I usually have no bosses. I tend to forget that the garden is boss now that things are starting to grow.

    • May 20, 2011 7:50 am

      Sorry Eva – I meant to answer your question re the sketch. It’s just something out of my head, but is based on a dried lotus pod. As you can see, I chopped the sketch in two. I’m strange.

  3. May 21, 2011 8:53 am

    I really loved this post because I am in the same boat. Things are out of sorts for me and have been for most of the year. Scheduling difficulties and getting lost with computer stuff and not having the supplies I need…’

    What you said just really stuck a chord with me. I will read it several times because it is so true.

    Thanks for making me realize I am not alone in my struggles to work and promote and get things done…

    I will be posting some images of new work later today and I hope you can find the time to look…

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

