Skip to content

Sometimes a Collage is Just a Collage

May 17, 2011

Rooted - Collage, 6x6" Mounted on 14x11" Heavy Paper

My sister admired my rose bush and asked for a rooted cutting, as if I have any idea on earth how to root rose cuttings. So I got on “the Google” to find out whether there was a special way to do it. The rose people basically said to put the cutting in a clean damp growing medium inside a zipper bag, seal the bag, and wait for a month. So I did two cuttings and I’m waiting to see if it works.

I don’t know what this has to do with the above collage, but the collage reminded me of the rose cuttings, so that’s the title.

I could have told you a long story about how I finally feel rooted in my new home now (which is true) or that my philosophy of art is rooted in my love for nature and earthy themes (also true) or I could have said that many of the papers that I use in collage come from the earth after I’ve buried them (true again.)

But I’ll go for the simplest explanation. Sometimes a collage is just a collage.

For purchase information, click on the image.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 7:00 am

    Thought a very pretty collage. I think that every collage has many many interpretations and comlimenatory stories, but sometimes like you said, the artits does not need to provide them (or any)! It can stand on its own!

  2. May 18, 2011 10:10 am

    Just t let you know that I enjoy your postings, although I do not always comment. About rooting roses, I just plant them in the ground and keep them wet. It depends on the vigor of the cutting.

    Once I planted an apricot seed (was so delicious that I wanted one for myself) by my back door, where it got watered with the other flowers. It grew about 2 feet high and gave me one beautiful apricot. I transplanted it and it grew into a 25 foot tree that gave me 3 bushels of fruit. I had to leave it in California when I moved to the midwest. Bought a tree 2 years ago, but with the late frost last year, no fruit yet.

    I do have a blog page and website I would like to share, if you wish. I was impressed with your local art association, it reminds me of our local ArtCentral home that is in an old Victorian home in Carthage Missouri.

    Thanks for all the updates and inspiration to create.

    • May 18, 2011 10:29 am

      Caroline, you are obviously one of those true “green thumb” people. As old as I am, I really am just learning, but I’m very committed to getting better.

      Thanks for the good words. I appreciate your stopping by and commenting!

  3. May 18, 2011 9:23 pm

    What a nice post.

    A piece of art to always remind you of those nice memories in your life.

    And, wow – what a great Apricot Tree story. Very impressive.

    We used to grow avocado “trees” and grapefruit trees in college. One friend had one in a really fun planter – in an old toilet! Clean and shiny of course.

    • May 20, 2011 7:53 am

      Thanks Jennifer, glad you like the piece and the story behind the title. That’s too funny about the recycled toilet. I like seeing those in gardens too.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

