Skip to content

A Damp but Beautiful Reception

May 16, 2011

Difficult to Dispute - Collage, 5x5"

Saturday night my husband and I attended the opening gala for Arts Alive, the annual juried show at the local Kennedy-Douglass Center for the Arts. The gallery show lasts for a month, and the outdoor festival is held across the street from the center in Wilson Park. I can’t say enough good things about the center and its support of the arts and artists in our area. And the gala was beautiful as always, hosted out back in the courtyard with a full catered menu, music and wine.

Sadly for the outdoor show it had rained all day, and the rain was still coming down off and on throughout the evening reception. My husband and I got our food, found a table, and had just gotten involved in a fun conversation with one of the artists from the outdoor festival and his wife when the rain really started coming down. So we quickly finished our food and headed home.

The show looked great, but I didn’t have my camera with me. I’ll have to go down to the center and take a few pictures to show. I didn’t win any awards, and there were no red dots — yet! Hope springs eternal.

Here’s a picture from one of their past shows with a big red painting of mine on the wall.

The collage shown at the top of this post is another new one based on nature imagery and was created with hand painted papers.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kai permalink
    May 16, 2011 8:49 pm

    I’m in love with cooking things Mexican.
    I decided to take some of the colors of Mexico and
    work with them in my drawings, which right now…
    mostly of chairs. After I got the basic composition
    down today I realized that I needed something else,
    a friend sent me a packet of papers and I got them
    out and boldly cut a hole in my drawing and glued
    some fun fruit in the background. Then I paper
    another area and drew on it. It was so fun and I
    would never have tried using some collage if it
    wasn’t for you…I have always shied away from it.
    So thanks, Kai

    • May 18, 2011 7:24 am

      That’s wonderful, Kai! It’s so freeing when you’re able to just explore all the possibilities. I’m glad you had fun.

  2. Sandra permalink
    May 17, 2011 2:35 am

    You are so fortunate, we appear to have lost our whole arts community here since the earthquake. Most galleries damaged and closed, the main Art Gallery taken over by the City Council for months, and many of our artists have had studios and valuable work destroyed and some may leave altogether. My abstract art course has been cancelled for this semester as not enough enrollments, and our previous art tutor has left. Music, drama and film much the same.
    Love the composition of Difficult to Dispute, it might inspire me to work up a painting with a similar composition.

    • May 18, 2011 7:26 am

      Sandra, that is so very sad. Ironically, it’s often art that can heal a community. I hope your arts community is soon thriving again. So glad you like the collage!

  3. May 17, 2011 4:48 am

    My mentor, sadly no longer with us, used to say that ‘playing with earthy colours shows a mark of maturity in art’. I love using colour, as a dyer I create it every time I mix the dyes, but I do find using the neutral colours is immensely relaxing and yet energising at the same time. I love what you are doing with your current run of collages.

    • May 18, 2011 7:36 am

      Sassa, I think that must be true about earthy colors and maturity. In the past I used colors straight out of the tube with abandon, and I still love them. But recently I’ve begun to look for the subtlety in muted tones. A whisper rather than a shout.

  4. May 17, 2011 4:49 am

    Oh, and I’m away for 10 days or so, so don’t think I’m ignoring you! I’ve scheduled some posts on my blog to keep up the every day. I may even come back with some artwork! (I can always hope)

    • May 18, 2011 7:38 am

      Your dedication to blogging every day is an inspiration, Sassa. I hope you’re having fun wherever you are! I think I saw a hint in a recent blog post that you might be a new television celebrity?

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

