Skip to content

Little Successes

May 12, 2011

It Just Happened - Collage, 5x5" on 14x11" Heavy Paper

Scattered Clues - Collage, 5x5" on 14x11" Heavy Paper

I’ve had a few more little successes in the studio today, and will accept them as they come. I know this won’t last forever. I got away with just watering in the garden this morning and then gave myself permission to come inside and play.

Two of the collages that I did today seemed to require torn, irregular margins, so I mounted them on larger paper. In this case, much larger. These are 5 x 5 inches mounted on 14 x 11-inch heavy drawing paper.

Other collages that I finished were made just a little larger than the desired finished size and then trimmed to size, as in this post. I’m beginning to see an important difference between the two treatments. I think I lean toward the torn edges, especially when using weathered and handmade papers.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 6:16 pm

    Beautiful pieces and I love the names – snatches of the creative process 🙂

  2. May 12, 2011 6:41 pm

    Thanks WildC! Glad you like the titles — that’s the hardest part for me.

  3. May 12, 2011 10:24 pm

    I like the torn edges on a larger sheet as well. It creates so much lovely visual space for each of your creations Martha.

    • May 13, 2011 6:19 am

      Thanks, Terrill. I enjoy seeing small work either matted with a big border or in this case mounted on a large backing.

  4. pat q permalink
    May 12, 2011 11:04 pm

    Hi Martha:
    I loved these 2 pieces. I also like the ripped uneven edges; it adds to the feel of the art collages. Lots of white border highlight the pieces and of course, what great titles. You said titles were hard for you, but you are very creative in the naming. Perfect!
    Thanks for sharing both your art and forays to the garden…
    Pat

    • May 13, 2011 6:26 am

      Thank you, Pat! Glad you enjoy my little trips to the garden and studio. As for the titles, I sat here yesterday as I was saving the images on my computer and listening to some dialogue on TV in the background. Little phrases stood out, so I made notes of them. It struck me funny that I hadn’t thought of that before. You should try it!

  5. May 13, 2011 6:55 am

    I love the smaller piece with the torn edge on the larger surface as well. It gives me something to zero in on, and I love torn edges anyway. They are beautiful.

  6. May 13, 2011 9:20 am

    I love them.

    • May 13, 2011 9:45 am

      Glad you do, Sassa! I’ve been enjoying your blog, and especially commend you for your commitment to blogging every day. You’re an inspiration!

      • May 15, 2011 3:10 pm

        It’s fun once you start! I’m away for 10 days shortly, so I’m trying to schedule some. I don’t want to give up now without a good reason. Thanks for stopping by.

        Reading your blog has given me permission to abstract my collages. Now I’m doing them just because I like them. They might find their way onto the blog at some point.

      • May 15, 2011 4:30 pm

        Yes! Just do it and don’t think too much. I’ll be looking forward to seeing what happens.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

