Skip to content

Garden Imperatives, Clothing Emergencies

May 11, 2011

No Three Alike - Collage, 5 x 5 Inches

Today was a beautiful day, breezy but approaching 90 before noon. I got out in the garden early to work on my potatoes planted in bags. They need dirt, compost and straw constantly added as they grow, to allow the potatoes to develop in the dark. This has been more of an undertaking than I had imagined, but so far I’m managing to stay up with it. We bought maybe twice the seed potatoes that we actually needed, but it’s our first time growing potatoes. I can’t help wondering just how those baby potatoes are looking under all that dirt.

The English peas are maturing and I’ve picked the few that are ready. They’re not enough for a meal yet, so I’m just popping them in a freezer bag as we shell them.

I was pretty well wiped out by ten this morning and had to just come in and cool off for a while. I’m old enough to know better than to overdo it.

After a quick lunch with my husband, I had a wonderful cool shower, dressed, and went clothes shopping. Now this might not sound like a big deal to most people, but it is a big deal for me. I hate to shop. So what happens is I end up with nothing to wear and then it’s an emergency.

The collage shown above is one of the pieces I finished on Monday of this week, during my moment of breakthrough.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kai permalink
    May 11, 2011 8:51 pm

    Really like this collage, especially it’s being monochromatic.
    Snowed then hailed so big you could see it falling from the
    sky, thanks for the pictures of green things growing, gives
    me hope that we still might plant a garden. Well, if the weather
    ever decides to warm up and stay warm.

    Kai in Northern New Mexico

  2. May 11, 2011 11:39 pm

    -Love the collage.
    -Envy that you’re ahead of me gardening-wise, but check in with me, I’m catching up! (finally at a home with a sunny yard!!!YAY).
    -I would so be your emergency shopping buddy.

    Miss checking in daily on my favorite art blogger. I’ve been all over the place lately.
    xoxo
    John

  3. May 15, 2011 3:06 pm

    Gardens here in the UK are really haywire at the moment. Summer plants are flowering with spring blossom. Not much rain here, either, hope that lasts while we are on holiday next week. Love the collage too.

    • May 15, 2011 4:34 pm

      We had an early warm spell in April that fooled some of the trees into early bloom. And then a lot of temperature fluctuations after that. So we’ve had much of the same seasonal confusion. I hope that at least you have a beautiful time on holiday!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

