Skip to content

Collage: Read Between the Lines

May 3, 2011

Read Between the Lines - Collage, 8x8" Mounted on 14x11 Watercolor Paper

This is a new collage using some of my hand painted papers. This is brown paper, some that had been crumpled and used as padding inside a shipping box of art supplies. I don’t throw anything away, if it looks usable. I love all kinds of papers, and see potential art materials in all kinds of scraps. We have had a few discussions in the past, mostly in the comments section of this blog, about archivability of collage materials. My view is that these found papers are not to be considered archival. It is the nature of collage to use found objects and materials in the making of it.

And speaking of found papers, I have a new batch of papers weathering out in a little fenced-in area of my garden. For a while, I had them buried under leaves and pine needles. But last week, I pulled them out and put them on top of the ground. Since we’ve had such a wet spring, I want them to have a chance to be exposed to the air and the sun for a while too. These papers are made up of a variety of torn-up paintings, sample stock from a discarded sample booklet, maps, and magazine pages. Here they are behind the potato plants:

It’s wet here and still raining. I think you can tell from this picture that it was taken in the rain.

And here is my washed-out garden. My smallest tomato plants (not shown well here) took a beating and will have to be replaced. I haven’t finished the job of putting all this mulch back in the garden area, since I’ve been rained out again.

Hmmmm. Rained out. Stuck in the house. Whatever will I do? (Read between the lines.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kai permalink
    May 3, 2011 8:32 pm

    Oh your garden makes me jealous, we had 12 inches of snow two days ago!
    Wanted to mention a wonderful film I rented from Netflix called ‘Our City
    of Dreams’. A documentary by Chiara Clemente (Francesco Clemente’s
    daughter). She follows the lives of 5 New York city women artists…so inspiring.

    Kai

    • May 4, 2011 3:39 pm

      Kai, thanks for that recommendation. It sounds wonderful! How about “Who Does She Think She Is?” I haven’t seen that one either, but would love to.

  2. pat q permalink
    May 3, 2011 8:54 pm

    You could take up a new career. Painting and/or collage! I think you would be a natural.
    Enjoy.

  3. May 4, 2011 1:21 am

    Love the stripy structure of the white — how did you do that? — and the red border with the dragons (that’s what I see. Dragons from a medieval church wall).

    • May 4, 2011 3:38 pm

      Eva, the white paint on the brown paper was two different applications. One was a lift-off of some excess paint from one of my panels, and after that was dry I put some gestural squiggles onto my table top with a squeeze bottle. Then I rolled that up with a brayer and rolled it onto the paper’s painted surface. If I were to try to do that again I couldn’t. It would turn out differently.

      Dragons — love them!

      • May 5, 2011 3:56 am

        These white structures look unique, indeed.

      • May 5, 2011 5:38 am

        Completely original pea trellises, Eva! My husband and I built them out of pvc pipe and fittings. Then the mesh for the plants to climb is plastic, which I hate using, but he couldn’t find the type made of string. It was a struggle and a challenge to our patience with each other, but we were happy when they were finished.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

