Skip to content

I Miss My Studio

April 29, 2011

A Walk in the Woods - Collage, 5x5"

It’s been such a difficult week for the state that I live in, and for us as well in terms of  uncertainty and anxiety, since we were in the projected path of all the tornado warnings for 24 hours on Wednesday.  That part was stressful and scary, since no one can predict with perfect accuracy where or when these storms will strike. At times there were an amazing number of simultaneous, overlapping warning areas on the radar. But I’m sure that with all the updated technology more lives were spared than with dangerous storms in the past. Still, what we are seeing now in the aftermath is that all of us who still have our homes and our loved ones have no complaint about any of it.

These storms were historic in their severity and number. The unprecedented event kept most of us glued to our local news channels and the weather channel for the entire time, trying to be ready to go to a “safe area” in our house. Knowing all the while there’s no safe place above ground with some of these more powerful tornadoes. I know that was our experience.

And now for me, there’s only the cleanup outside right here in my yard and garden. And I am grateful that that is all I have to be concerned about. I have a roof over my head, and a bed to sleep in.

But today I will have no choice but spend some time outside. In addition to replacing some young tomato plants that took a severe beating with the wind and rain, I have to add dirt to my potatoes in grow bags, which have jumped up about another six inches since all that water came down.

A few family members are without power in Huntsville, just 45 minutes from here. We may need to assist them in some way too.

As a result of all this, I suppose I’ll be putting off studio time for today and maybe even for the weekend. And I miss my studio. I go out there and just walk around sometimes, looking at possibilities and things I’d like to do next. It will wait.

The above collage is a little something I put together last week. Even though it’s not technically one of the “Scrolls” series, it has the same feel.

It’s titled “A Walk in the Woods” – expressing another thing I’d like to do soon. But that will have to wait too until the soggy ground dries out a little.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2011 12:22 pm

    Martha! I’m so glad you’re unscathed…those storms really were amazingly powerful! Back when I lived in Kentucky, we had a tornado go through the “holler” that my town was located in. When the sky got really weird I was worried – but then my ears popped, which TOTALLY freaked me out, I panicked and stood in the middle of living room, trying to remember whether we were supposed to open or close the damn windows. The rain got really intense and went sideways…and then it was over! We lost a tree, lots of other folks lost more, but this pales in comparison to Alabama!

    Phew – that was a long way for me to say I’m glad you’re safe! 🙂

    Candy

    p.s. Now I know that you’re supposed to not care about whether the windows are open or closed – get the heck away from them to some interior room, hopefully without a window, because flying glass is BAD!

    • April 29, 2011 12:30 pm

      Candy, that is so scary. I’ve had a couple of close calls over the years, when I lived here before. All it does is make you more jittery the next time one comes through. Our “safe” place is an inner hallway. Big comfort that is.

  2. April 29, 2011 4:12 pm

    Martha glad to see your blog post today as you start to pick up the pieces. So glad to know you are okay in such a time as this. Warm hugs and enjoy your time in the garden.

    • April 30, 2011 12:05 am

      Thank you, Terrill. The garden was therapeutic today. It was just what the doctor ordered!

  3. Terry permalink
    April 29, 2011 10:57 pm

    Hi Martha. So happy to hear you and yours are all OK. I’m sure it was crazy scary for you but, you have come out “the other side” as they say. I hope you will be able to enjoy your time in the garden even a little and hopefully be able to spend some time in the studio even if it’s just to browse and plan. Take good care. Hugs to all. Terry

  4. April 30, 2011 12:21 am

    So glad to hear you are okay but it must be so very difficult to be surrounded by so much tragedy. When you get back into the studio I imagine that all your feelings will be reflected in the work you create.

  5. April 30, 2011 10:33 am

    Thank God you are safe. I thought of you and your husband when I saw on the news what was going on. We are up on Canada and rarely we expeience these storms…..It blows my mind that “nature” can cause such devastating results.”…..Keep safe …….the studio is safe….as well as your loved ones and THAT IS what is important….the paint can wait!……Karin Lynn

    • May 2, 2011 8:07 am

      Thank you, Karin Lynn. Mother Nature can be scary for sure! We feel very fortunate to have escaped the devastation that came so close.

  6. April 30, 2011 11:15 pm

    Very glad you are ok Martha! I remember those scary times of running to the storm cellar in the middle of the night while growing up not that far from you. My prayers are with everyone that live there now and are having to pick up the pieces. Thanks for letting us know you are ok! 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

