Skip to content

Clearing and Cooler, a Painting

April 28, 2011

Clearing and Cooler, Acrylic on Canvas, 30 x 40 Inches

In the last post I showed one painting, “Chasing the Storm” that had been featured in my blog in the past because for me it has a feeling of dark, threatening clouds. So when I talk about tornadoes, that painting always comes to mind.

But at the time that I painted that one, there was a companion piece that I titled “Clearning and Cooler.” Turns out that’s exactly what the weather is doing as well, since the all-time record number of storms ripped through our area yesterday and throughout the night before, bringing cool temperatures once again. I’m writing this before daylight today, but the sky is clear and I expect to see the sunrise later this morning.

We spent the day yesterday literally monitoring multiple tornado warnings. Not watches, but warnings. What that meant was that we had to be prepared to go to the center of the house at a moment’s notice. I haven’t seen the damage reports yet, but there were many, many tornadoes. My husband heard on the weather channel that yesterday could possibly be an all time record for tornadoes in a day. The first sirens were sounded at four a.m., so I got up to watch the weather on TV and on my computer. Then throughout the day, they just kept coming in waves. At four p.m. there was a repeat of the four a.m. cycle. And then by dinner time, everything finally settled down.

We won’t know the extent of the damage in our area until after daylight today. Many roads are impassable in the area, there are power outages all around, and there reports of loss of life and devastation in other areas of the state.

Big trees blew down across homes and sliced them in half. Trees in the roadways kept people from getting to their loved ones. I’m looking at the big pine trees in our yard with a renewed sense of trepidation. We need to get those trimmed.

I never cease to be awed by the power of the weather. Of course I did grow up here and you’d think I’d be used to it by now. But now my Florida friends say they bet I miss the hurricanes. I do kind of miss the extended warning time and the ability to get out of their way.

Both this painting and the other one are available for purchase. If you’re interested in them, just let me know. My email address is martha dot marshall at gmail dot com.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    April 28, 2011 12:45 pm

    Yikes Martha, you are a brave, brave lady. I live in Quebec and have never been in a hurricane or worse a tornado. I am so totally freaked at the idea of a tornado, and with the horrible record breaking 173 mile long tornado down there, leaves me speechless.

    I’ve read stories of cows and pigs flying through the air and that breaks my heart. Good luck to all of you down there and if I weren’t an atheist, I’d say god bless you all.

    • April 29, 2011 7:03 am

      Thanks, Sherrill. I’m not brave at all. Tornadoes scare me more than anything I can think of. Some of the powerful ones that came through are inescapable. You can cower in the center of your house, but you probably aren’t going to survive unless you’re underground. The pictures of the devastation are just horrendous. We were very lucky. (And just between you and me, you don’t have to say god bless us. If there is a god, he is strangely absent at the most inopportune times.)

  2. April 28, 2011 3:54 pm

    Martha,
    I’m so glad you are okay. We watched the Weather Channel last night-unbelievable!

    • April 29, 2011 7:06 am

      Thank you so much, Jane! We couldn’t believe it when we started seeing the after-the-storm reports yesterday morning. And the pictures keep coming!

  3. pat q permalink
    April 28, 2011 5:47 pm

    Martha I am glad to hear you are all right. The news and pictures were terrible of those southern states, especially Alabama. I am assuming there are many more tornadoes this year than ever before? Our weather is gradually becoming stranger and stronger!
    Please take care.
    pat q

    • April 29, 2011 7:08 am

      Thank you, Pat. Yes, this was an all-time record number of deadly tornadoes in one day. I agree with you that something is up with the weather. Climate change is real, folks.

  4. April 29, 2011 1:50 am

    Martha I thought of you first thing when I caught the news about the tornadoes as I had just looked at your previous post before heading to town on the early ferry. I do hope you are all okay and sending healing thoughts to those that are experiencing losses on so many different levels.

    • April 29, 2011 7:11 am

      It’s just incredible, Terrill. More and more of the damage and loss is being revealed as news and rescue crews go out to assess what has happened. It’s massive and historic. We were very lucky indeed.

  5. Sandra permalink
    April 29, 2011 4:13 am

    I have been watching the dreadful tornados on our TV news and am so very very sorry for all those affected. I have been thinking of you and just hoping that you won’t be affected, and that soon the tornado season will be over. I hope that there was not too much damage done in your immediate area. I love your atmospheric weather painting.

    • April 29, 2011 7:13 am

      Thank you, Sandra. We were missed completely here, with damage just 10 miles on both sides of us. Amazing destruction all around. My heart goes out to the families that have lost their homes and loved ones.

      Glad you like the painting!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

