Skip to content

Finished Painting and a Work in Progress

April 26, 2011

Spring Thaw - Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2"

These breezy but almost hot spring days have had me outside in the garden most of the time, with  lots of iced tea breaks so as not to push it too hard. Still, I feel a slight sense of  urgency to get done, as summer will be bearing down on us soon. The nights are already very warm, which is just what my tomato plants will love.

This painting was close to finished when I worked on the last six boxes. The white area was all white but textured. Since the texture wasn’t showing up enough, I gave it a wash in diluted black, then wiped most of it away. That was the solution I needed in order to resolve it.

There is only one more left in the group of six. Here is how it looks at the current stage. I’ll change it a lot more before I’m finished. I think.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 11:23 am

    Hi Martha, I’m new to your blog. I found you through Terrill Welch’s blog. I love your art work. Very rich and full. I will be back for sure to see the finished product.

  2. April 26, 2011 11:38 am

    Hello, Alison! Thanks for stopping by. I just read your comment on Terrill’s blog post. I think I’ll put up a link to hers today, as it’s such an urgent issue for all of us to get up to speed on.

    Thanks for your promise to come back for another look at the painting in progress. That gives me extra incentive to keep my part of the bargain!

  3. pat q permalink
    April 27, 2011 9:40 am

    Hi Martha: I absolutely love “Spring Thaw” It is perfectly named and love the green bits like leaves and the white that looks like remaining snow.
    Thank you for sharing your work. Very inspiring. 🙂
    pat q

  4. April 27, 2011 1:37 pm

    Martha, I just love “Spring Thaw”! It really evokes a feeling of winter-into-spring. There’s an airiness to the painting, and if I didn’t know better, I’d swear it was encaustic, due to the milky layering of paint and other qualities…translucency with opacity, namely.
    It’s already hot here in south Texas. Boiling today, in fact! Supposed to cool down to mid/upper 80s by tomorrow, though. Enjoy your spring while it lasts!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

