Skip to content

Down the Garden Path and Other Musings

April 22, 2011

Down the Garden Path - Collage, Hand Painted Papers, 5 x 7 on 8 x 10 Watercolor Paper

Well, that describes my day perfectly. I have been outside 90 percent of the day, only taking breaks from planting to regroup and rehydrate.

We have expanded our raised bed garden this year, and I’m mostly finished with planting everything. We ended up with one 3-1/2-foot square raised bed with nothing planned to go in it. So late yesterday we ran up to our favorite nursery and got some flowers to put there. At the end of the day today, I’m so happy we decided to put some flowers in the veggie garden. As soon as things take hold, I’ll make sure I show some pictures.

Gardening and just being outside are restorative times for an artist. Right now I’m typing this in my screen room on a break from some really hard physical labor. As I sit here, I’m surrounded by wind through huge trees, the gentle tones of my wind chimes, and the songs of a million birds. I look out across the back yards and everywhere there are little nature dances going on. Two mockingbirds doing a mating ritual on my fence, baby birds trying to negotiate the feeder, a chickadee family back in the little bird house for the second spring.

Happy Earth Day everyone. I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2011 6:13 pm

    Sounds absolutely splendid Martha. With my morning being quietly productive getting paper work in order, I was going to do many things this afternoon. However, a trip into the village to drop something off a colleague resulted in a spontaneous picnic down at the beach watch children plan and a beautiful big golden lab run and swim after a ball. Now I have to decide – 2nd wind or a book. I think the book is winning.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

